The Big Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
Delicious and fun to put together with friends. The Costco rosemary french bread worked wonderfully with it (only got 4 layers). Wasn't sure about the horseradish and mustard, but melted together beautifully. Would make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
Wow! This is one BIG sandwich. It's actually more of a hoagie or sub depending on where you're from. I have to laugh because I added some lettuce to make it "healthy" - as if it could possibly be any good for you. But, I guess you have to splurge once in a while. I made two and because there was no way we could finish these I sent the rest to work with my husband and he told me the guys renamed this "The Widow Maker".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
This sandwich was great but I did add on. I added some thinly sliced cucumbers,sliced pickles and guacamole
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
I've made this sandwich before and loved it. I lost the recipe and was happy to find so quickly. I make it in the morning and serve it for a picnic lunch. I've never had a problem with soggy leftovers. But I always use a chewy bread. I find it is less likely to get soggy when it is made ahead of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mendota, Illinois, USA
Living In: Centralia, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
This makes a great sandwich. I used a round loaf of Italian Boule, but otherwise followed the directions exactly. It was very tasty and my picky husband raved about it. Next time I will try the French bread as we had a ton of sandwich left over (not that that's a bad thing!). Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Suffolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Camp Hill, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2006
Too much of a mouthful. This is a sandwich you need to eat with a fork and knife.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
Fun to make for the Superbowl tonight. Tasty but needing a little something. Maybe some regular mustard, dill pickles or even peppercini's to add some flavor. Liked it though and will make again:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krista Donahue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklin, Indiana, USA
Living In: Vista, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
Excellent! Made this for a football party, and everybody loved it. I couldn't get five layers out of it either, so I just did four, and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JODI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Enon Valley, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Clinton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2005
Delicious. Made it for hubby and myself for tonight and it was great. I played around with the ingredients a bit and it turned out great. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
What a fun and wonderful sandwich! I didn't get 5 layers either. I couldn't find a good bread knife either, part of the problem. I wanted to go to Subway and borrow theirs. I added shredded lettuce from the bag and banana pepper rings. I am going to make this again for the ballgames this weekend. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Big Dipper Sandwich

See how to make a tender roast beef sandwich with dipping sauce.

Cucumber Sandwich

This healthy cucumber sandwich stars avocado, pepperoncini, and cream cheese.

Grilled Chicken Salad Sandwich

See how to make a tasty chicken salad using leftover grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States