The Big Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2003
GREAT SANDWICH! I DID SUBSTITUTE PROVOLENE CHEESE FOR THE AMERICAN ONLY BECAUSE I LOVE PROVOLENE-- REALLY GREAT SANDWICH
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2003
Fabulous!!!! Made this for dinner last night and everyone loved it including my very picky teen-aged daughter. She even requested this for her lunchbox today. Followed the recipe to the letter and only difference was I ended up with four slices instead of five. Not a big deal. I just put the last two layers together. Loved how this became more of a pressed sandwich later in the evening. Very, very good. Cannot wait to make for game nights or the Superbowl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2004
We loved this sandwich! It was a great, fun meal for our traditional Saturday "Movie Night" get-together! I used French bread that had a firm crust, but was very soft inside. For that reason, I had a difficult time slicing it without smashing it. My husband took over and did a much better job. Next time I think I will try Italian bread, but I will definitely make this again. Thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SEY1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2005
I make this all the time. Try using a big, round loaf of King's Hawaiian Bread, slicing and assembling the same way. I add some bacon to the tomato layer and omit the onion and use real cheddar instead of American. Top with sesame seeds, butter, and garlic salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
This was very very good, one well make again and again. The only down side was the leftovers weren't to good. Edited to add that we have made this sandwich again and held off on adding the condiments until peices of sandwich were served. That way if there is any sandwich leftover it saves much better since the condiments made the sandwich soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
What a fun and wonderful sandwich! I didn't get 5 layers either. I couldn't find a good bread knife either, part of the problem. I wanted to go to Subway and borrow theirs. I added shredded lettuce from the bag and banana pepper rings. I am going to make this again for the ballgames this weekend. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2005
Delicious. Made it for hubby and myself for tonight and it was great. I played around with the ingredients a bit and it turned out great. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
Excellent! Made this for a football party, and everybody loved it. I couldn't get five layers out of it either, so I just did four, and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JODI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Enon Valley, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Clinton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
Fun to make for the Superbowl tonight. Tasty but needing a little something. Maybe some regular mustard, dill pickles or even peppercini's to add some flavor. Liked it though and will make again:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krista Donahue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklin, Indiana, USA
Living In: Vista, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2006
Too much of a mouthful. This is a sandwich you need to eat with a fork and knife.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Big Dipper Sandwich

See how to make a tender roast beef sandwich with dipping sauce.

Cucumber Sandwich

This healthy cucumber sandwich stars avocado, pepperoncini, and cream cheese.

Grilled Chicken Salad Sandwich

See how to make a tasty chicken salad using leftover grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States