The Big Easy Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
I love this Jambalaya mix, and have been using it to make a kickin' version of this recipe for years! I substitute beer and/or wine for the water, though. It gives the dish a greater depth of flavor. I often use what I have on-hand for the protiens, but love when I have diced ham, shrimp, diced chicken, and either andouille sausage, or even kielbasa works well. I have also added black beans. I find this Jambalaya mix to be very versatile. This dish always impresses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DManfredi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
We make this recipe for your manager;s scoial hour at Chase Suite Hotel in Baton Rouge once a week and recieve rave reviews from our guests. Make it the way it is written the first time you prepare it and you will not change a thing the next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DonnaD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wallingford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
This was delicious and I didn't even have shrimp to add. But I know it would be awesome with shrimp too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie O.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
I'm almost embarrassed to admit this, but maybe it will help some fellow clueless chefs out there. Andouille sausage is a pre-cooked smoked pork sausage. Just beware if you make any sort of sausage replacement, you should cook it first before you include it in this recipe! Luckily I noticed before I included it and my cooked Italian sausage was a tasty substitute. Great Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Dorothy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
I got confused because I was trying to follow the directions and then follow the box directions. I choose to follow the box and it was too much water at the end. I would stick to these directions but it still was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by renishamarie

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
I added another 1/4 cup water towards the end. I felt it was getting too dry before the shrimp and rice were finished cooking. The anduille sausage has quite a kick. You could substitute polish sausage if you are looking for a more mild flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne H

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valencia, California, USA
Living In: Duluth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
I was a bit skeptical using a boxed mix but considering I'd never made jambalaya before, I was nervous to try anything else for my Mardi Gras get together. This was absolutely delicious, easy, and was gone so quickly I was shocked. My brother-in-law used to work as a chef in New Orleans and didn't even guess that it was from a box :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gillie Cameron Almeida

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA
Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
Excellent!! Didnt change a thing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
I had all the ingredients on hand except the rice mix. I used 1 red, 1 yellow, 1 green bell pepper. 1 medium large onion, 1 pound small shrimp, 1 lb beef sausage ( the U shaped one). I sauteed all the veggies with 3 cloves of minced garlic. I sauteed the sausage and shrimp in a separate pan with red pepper flakes, black pepper and creole seasoning. The meat has better flavor that way i think. ( i also use chicken and ham on different occasions) I don't use water. Normally beef or chicken broth. I pour some wine in or beer. I also had about half cup or more of rice and adjust the fluids or add more when needed. I put red pepper flakes and black beans with the rice. At the end i mix in the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vella_marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
Great recipe! I used smoked turkey sausage for a healthier option and it turned out great. I couldn't find the "reduced sodium" mix, only the original, so it was pretty salty. I'll do a more thorough search and stock up on the low sodium version when I find it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Colleen's Slow Cooker Jambalaya

Try this authentic taste of the Bayou--made quick and easy in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States