The Big Easy Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
I'm almost embarrassed to admit this, but maybe it will help some fellow clueless chefs out there. Andouille sausage is a pre-cooked smoked pork sausage. Just beware if you make any sort of sausage replacement, you should cook it first before you include it in this recipe! Luckily I noticed before I included it and my cooked Italian sausage was a tasty substitute. Great Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Dorothy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
I made this recipe for my church luncheon group. Everyone loved it as it isn't too spicy (although it could be kicked up a notch with additional cayenne). I added ham as well and a little extra water. I also cooked it the day before the meal to let the flavors blend and then added the shrimp when I reheated it. This has great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by granny

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riverbank, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
This dish was SO yummy! I had a mardi gras party and I was so surprised at how great this was. I ended up using garlic and provolone sausae which everyone loved - I think next time i will try the andouille sausage or make it with all shrimp. I also used cooked shrimp (like for shrimp cocktail) and threw them in at the last minute so they didn't get tough. It was such a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
I had all the ingredients on hand except the rice mix. I used 1 red, 1 yellow, 1 green bell pepper. 1 medium large onion, 1 pound small shrimp, 1 lb beef sausage ( the U shaped one). I sauteed all the veggies with 3 cloves of minced garlic. I sauteed the sausage and shrimp in a separate pan with red pepper flakes, black pepper and creole seasoning. The meat has better flavor that way i think. ( i also use chicken and ham on different occasions) I don't use water. Normally beef or chicken broth. I pour some wine in or beer. I also had about half cup or more of rice and adjust the fluids or add more when needed. I put red pepper flakes and black beans with the rice. At the end i mix in the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vella_marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
I love the Jambalaya mix.This is something easy and good to make.I love it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by theculinaryninja

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edgewater Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
Too spicy to eat, but it was kind of like an empty, flavorless spice which didn't make it worth pushing through the pain to eat it. I was really looking forward to trying something different and making a new tradition out of making this, but now I'm like, I'm glad I gave it a try (especially during Mardis Gras Week) but I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.BJW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
This recipe was very easy and tasty. I didn't like that Zatarain's had MSG and other ingredients I try to avoid. so I looked at some of the other jambalaya recipes that didn't use a mix to see what seasonings they used. I used a combo of garlic powder, dried thyme, dried oregano, paprika, tabasco sauce and beef bullion. I used chicken andouille sausage to lower the fat. I also added precooked, frozen rice. The result was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
Very easy and good. I had to add a little bit more water, and i think next time I will use 2 packages of Zatarain's instead of just one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
I made this last night for friends to celebrate "Fat Tuesday, it was a hit! We all loved it. The only small variations I made was to add two chopped cooked chicken breasts when I added the sausage and shrimp and had to add a bit of chicken stock or it would have been dry. This is a dish I will certainly be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
Have used the zatarain's jambalaya mix for a long time. This really stepped it up a notch. Liked it a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Colleen's Slow Cooker Jambalaya

Try this authentic taste of the Bayou--made quick and easy in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States