The Big Easy Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
This was so good! I didn't use shrimp but instead chicken andouille, and it was fabulous. And I used dried parsley (it's what was on hand).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
This dish dish was a lil' out the box for me, which is why I decided to try it. I don't do good with spicy but I cooked it anyway. I couldn't find Andouille sausage so I used jalepeno sausage (14 oz pkg). I had to use more water about 1.5 to 2 cups because I wanted mine a little saucy -don't like it too dry! My husband and I liked it. It was slightly spicy which was perfect for me but next time I won't make it spicy at all and see what happens. I esp like the ease/simplicity of this recipe. Thx for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
Absolutely delicious!!! My friends and I cannot get enough. It's one of my favorite and easiest recipes to make. The only thing I did differently was Ro-tel instead of the roasted tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
Karen Bubach makes. She also adds chicken. No peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
I did not add the green peppers, considering it's spicy enough with the sausage and yellow pepper. I also added a 1/2 cup water to the mixture because it seemed a bit dry. Overall, an outstanding, "zippy" dish that reminds me of the south. Will make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
I made this (with no changes) for a work potluck. This was the most talked about dish and didn't last very long. This is a very flavorful and not overly spicy dish. I try to make this anytime shrimp or sausage is on sale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hurlock, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
Used a can of beer in place of the water, added okra and tabasco
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
Really good! We used red instead of yellow pepper (the store was out), and use Chorzio sausage instead of Andouille (again, the store didn't have it). Also, the shrimp were pre-cooked frozen/thawed, so we added them in the last 5 minutes instead of 10. Finally, we pre-cooked and browned the sausage before adding it for the last 10 minutes. Very tasty, we'll definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
I was a bit skeptical using a boxed mix but considering I'd never made jambalaya before, I was nervous to try anything else for my Mardi Gras get together. This was absolutely delicious, easy, and was gone so quickly I was shocked. My brother-in-law used to work as a chef in New Orleans and didn't even guess that it was from a box :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gillie Cameron Almeida

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA
Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
Great recipe! I used smoked turkey sausage for a healthier option and it turned out great. I couldn't find the "reduced sodium" mix, only the original, so it was pretty salty. I'll do a more thorough search and stock up on the low sodium version when I find it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Colleen's Slow Cooker Jambalaya

Try this authentic taste of the Bayou--made quick and easy in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States