The Best Zucchini Fritters Ever Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
I used canola oil instead of shortening and no milk....they are fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jacinan
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
Good basic recipe for 4 servings;I used just 1 egg no milk and Season all Seasoning I had Aseago cheese so i used that.I grated the zuchinni It made about 12, 4 inch fritters very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jacinan
Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
The recipe is right on track. HOWEVER, ditch the milk and grate the zucchini. If you have a picky eater amongst you (such as my vegetable-avoiding boyfriend), grate a small potato and mix it with the zucchini. It'll also add a nice chewy texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
All you can say is regular flour is not the same. at least i hope it's not. I didn'thave buttermilk baking mix so I plain flour... not a big Fan,. Maybe I'll get up the courage totry it again with he mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
My finished product was great, but not because of this recipe. It turned out excellent b/c I read many of the reviews & made the modifications suggested. It is a great "sneaky" recipe to get kids to eat their veggies. My two boys loved them, especially dipped in sour cream. If you are going to try this recipe, I recommend following the modifications made in the other reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
Not as good as the zucchini patties recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
I shredded the zucchini and put in minced (dried) onion instead. THese turned out like pancakes with zucchini in it. If you do not like pancakes, then dont make/eat this. While they tasted good, the pancake thing was not what I was going for. Next time, I would cut the milk and flour in half and maybe add more zucchini. Season All salt was a good addition for the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
Made these with my first zucchini from the garden today. Wished I had read the reviews before I made them, b/c I agree, they need quite a bit of seasoning. I used Parmesan cheese in place of the Romano. Followed the recipe exactly, but will probably adjust it a bit next time with less flour, add cornmeal or breadcrumbs next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
These were disappointing. They were good, but definitely not great. I think my husband is being generous by giving these 3 stars, so this rating is for him. I am leaning more towards 2 stars, or maybe even just 1 star, because they need a lot or work. I switched things up a little by using 1/2 cornmeal, 1/2 flour, subbing Parmesan for the Romano, and I only used 2 eggs. Then I fried them in olive oil (but vegetable oil would be better). I did put milk, but only 1/2 cup, and then it seemed too wet so I added a bit more cornmeal. I completely agree with the reviewers who suggested omitting the milk -- there is NO need for it. I am always generous with spices, and even added extra onion and some red pepper flakes for zing, but even with all that I added, these were bland. We could not taste the zucchini or the onion and we wanted to taste the vegetables!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
This was a very good recipe! Even my two year old loved it. He generally shuns anything green. I did make a few changes as suggested by other reviewers. I grated the zucchini and onion instead of chopping, and I also fried in margarine instead of vegetable shortening. This seemed to add another layer of flavor. To those who said these were bland, that's why it says all the spices are to taste. If you think they are bland add a bit more spices. Overall, a very good recipe and a great way to use those garden fresh veggies! That's always a plus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hazel Crest, Illinois, USA
Living In: Plainfield, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

The Best Ever Classic Jewish Noodle Kugel

This sweet, creamy egg noodle casserole is traditional Jewish comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States