The Best Vegetarian Chili in the World Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2004
Hi everyone this is my recipe! Thanks for all the great reviews however they have made a misprint in the submission. It should read 3 large cans of whole tomatoes, crushed by hand NOT 3 tomatoes, that would make this very spicy as well as very thick. I don't remember if I wrote this part as well, but I usually drain the 2 cans of beans, and I leave the liquid of the rem. cans. Luckily not many have been effected by the mistake. thanks again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1670 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by calead910

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
Excellent chili. Just a note to cooks who are worried about sodium intake. In response to previous posters, the liquid beans are canned in is very high in sodium. Canned beans should always be drained and rinsed for a healthier meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
805 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Destie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsborough, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2006
I understand that this says "spicy" in the description, but I think that's an understatement. I found this to be WAY too spicy. I think that the spiciness overshadowed the other flavors. I served this to my family and no one was able to make it past 1/5 of the bowl, including myself, because it was just too spicy. It would be good if you cut out 90% of the chili powder & used 1 or less Jalapeno.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
599 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
I LOVED this recipe! I did find however that I had to almost double the amount of chili powder and cumin. Just kind of taste and add till you get it where you really love it. I used Original Boca Burgers that I broke up into little pieces, and like so many other reviewers, no one could tell it wasn't meat! It is, however, very important to break the Boca Burgers up into tiny pieces, otherwise, if you leave big chunks I think you can taste a little difference. This does make a huge amount. I think it would easily feed 10 or 12....especially if you were to put it over rice and serve with maybe some grated cheddar, sour cream and chopped avacados.....chopped onions would be good too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
263 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2007
This is a great recipe. I added 1 zuchini, 1 red bell pepper, 1 can pinto beans, 1 bag of frozen corn (we like it better than canned), and 1 can tomato paste (I drained my beans and added water; plus I like a tomato based chili). I also added a few splashes of tobasco sauce, I think my chili powder must have been milder than others because we did not have enough spice. I reccommend using the whole stewed tomatoes because they have a thicker consistency. You can use your kitchen scissors and cut them up while they are still in the can. I think I will add a can of white beans next time. There really is a lot of the veggie meat and I like a fair amount of beans. I froze the chili in individual containers and made corn bread muffins and froze those too. We were able to have several chili/muffin lunches. Thanks for the great recipe Cal :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
211 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Anichka
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2005
I was a little confused - ground oregano or leaf? (I ended up using the latter, because I had more of it.) Couldn't much drain the chile peppers, and I wondered whether to drain the beans (don't). Turned out very well, beautiful, though I might use a little less chili powder next time (and I used a skimpy 1/4 cup). Also used only 1 jalepeno - it was plenty spicy tonight, and will be spicier tomorrow. I used about a teaspoon of salt instead of a tablespoon and it was enough. Modifying review to add my experience cooking it in a slow cooker... I prepared the veggies (onion, garlic, green pepper, celery) as instructed, and then transferred them to the slow cooker before throwing in the rest of the ingredients except for the corn. I cooked on high for a couple hours and added the corn about an hour before the end and turned my cooker down to low at the same time (about 3 hours in the slow cooker in all). It turned out brilliantly. I was worried the veggie crumbles might get rubbery, but they did not, and the spices were mellower but still very tasty. Huge hit at the office, even though they are all meateaters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
170 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Urbana, Illinois, USA
Living In: Cambridge, Cambridgeshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
What great chili for a snowy day in Wisconsin! Loved this a lot. Made as is except drained and rinsed all the beans to make them less salty and then added a bit of water. Thanks for sharing this yummy, healthy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2005
This recipe tempts me to never buy canned chili again! My whole family enjoyed this one and the leftovers have proved tastier than the first bowl. I did make a few adjustments. I used only one jalapeno and added salt to taste rather than the entire tablespoon all at once. I'd guess I used about half a tablespoon. I used canned crushed tomatoes in place of the fresh ones (a 28 oz can I think) and added an extra can of beans since I had some on hand. I cheated and used ground turkey in place of the veggie crumbles and I let the whole thing sit on the burner over low heat for about two hours instead of the 45 mins. The result was amazing! This is awesome chili, I can't wait to make it again...thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kirkland, Washington, USA
Living In: Astoria, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
went almost totally by the recipe...except used about 1 1/2 packages of the crumbles instead of 2, and i let simmer for @ 2 hours...THE BEST VEGGIE CHILI EVER...THANKS...by the way, this makes a HUGE POT...but youll be happy to have the left overs, as it does get better by the day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
I really liked it, I use Gardenburger brand hamburger crumbles and make some changes. I omit the onion & jalapeno, and add mushrooms and 4 chipotle peppers in adobo sauce - minced. I always rinse beans, the liquid from the cans is nasty to me, I'd rather use water. This is definitely the best Chili I've ever had. We ate it with sour cream and Frito's. MMMMM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gresham, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 976) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Vegetarian Chili in the World

This tasty chili is packed with healthy beans and veggies.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Meatless Three-Bean Chili

See how to make a tasty vegetarian chili with three beans and corn.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States