The Best Vegetarian Chili in the World Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
I'm a meat eater, but my girl friend is Vegan and I made this for us one night she came over for dinner. It's so good, I was impressed at the spice level and couldn't tell it wasn't real meat. I highly recommend this chili for anybody - meateater, vegitarian or vegan. Very good. I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Exceptional starting recipe. I'd never made chili before. This was super easy and nutritious. I combined spices from "boilermaker tailgate chili" to ingredients in this one - awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
This chili is thick and hearty. Next time I'll only use one pack of fake meat because the flavor is too strong. I'm vegetarian after all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
I used this recipe as a base for a chili competition and it TIED for first place! Here are my suggestions: I doubled the extra virgin olive oil, cumin, celery stalks, and chili powder. I added a yellow bell pepper, 1 1/2 teaspoon coriander, about 3 Tablespoons brown sugar (to taste), 1 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes. I only used 1 jalapeno pepper. I didn't use garbanzo beans or black beans, salt, or ground black pepper. I altered the tomatoes. I used 4 (14.5 oz) cans of Hunts Fire Roasted Diced Tomatoes (2 original, 2 garlic). For the corn and beans- I bought cans that said "no salt added". Don't forget to taste test throughout and to remove the bay leaves- which may be confusing for someone who has never cooked with them before. You'll love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Tried it and made three substitutions. Poblano peppers for the jalapeno peppers; Longhots (fried/jarred cayenne peppers (by Mancini) for the canned chili peppers and pinto for kidney beans. Used organic vegetables and veggie crumbles. This receipe is actually vegan. Topped with vegan jack "cheese". Won first place for "Best Non-Traditional Style" chili and 1st Place "Best Chili Overall" in the church Chili Cookoff today (November 17th). It really is good stuff. The two chili substitutions result in a smooth heat that everyone seemed to enjoy. Judges were unanimous. Great receipe! No picture - it's all gone - every last bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
I also add matchstick carrots, cilantro, & flat parsley. I also use morning star breakfast sausage patties, rather than the crumbles the recipe calls for. I add a good amount of bourbon & some red wine - even the meat eaters in my house prefer this chili over regular chili!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
I don't use processed soy so I subbed mushrooms, and I added a chipotle pepper and all of the adobo sauce in the can. Delicious! I know the original way would have been too, but I had that partial can of chipotles in adobo in my fridge .... waste not, want not lol. Looking forward to dinner!Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
I just made this chili and my husband loves it! I am going to enter it into a chili cook off at our church later this month and made a batch to try it. I used two extra large jalapeño peppers, hot fire-roasted green chile peppers, Boca Crumbles, Tajin Clasico Seasoning for the chili powder and small red beans for the kidney beans. Evidently the chili cook off entries last year "needed more heat". I think this will be a fun entry. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
This was amazing. Instead of veggie crumbles, I smooshed up a block of tofu and dry-fried it for a while to get it really ready to absorb the spices. Added a great texture. I didn't have enough chili powder but I'll be better prepared next time! Also, two fresh pasilla peppers in addition to the two fresh jalapenos, and I used 3 or 4 fresh bay leaves because I didn't have any dried ones. Fresh ones are less effective. Used frozen corn like others who commented.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Seriously the best!!! Just the right amount of spice level for me. I didn't find it too hot at all, but definitely spicy. The only mistake I made is not reading the opening line about needing a big soup pot! You want the biggest pot you got. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 975) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Vegetarian Chili in the World

This tasty chili is packed with healthy beans and veggies.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Meatless Three-Bean Chili

See how to make a tasty vegetarian chili with three beans and corn.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States