The Best Vegetarian Chili in the World Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
This recipe is great!! Everyone, even the meat eaters I know, love this chili. My sister is a huge meat eater and refused to try this the first couple times I made it wanting the meat but one bite changed her mind. I did change the recipe up slightly to suit my taste. I eliminate the vegetarian crumbles and instead add a can of lentils. I add an extra can of beans (usually white beans) and 1/4 cup brown sugar (which I used at the advice of other reviewers). If I'm making it for kids or anyone who doesn't like too much spice I eliminate the jalapenos, it still has a little zip but nothing overpowering. Again, wonderful recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
This has been my go-to crowd pleaser for years. I follow the recipe as is and ALWAYS receive a ton of compliments. Thank you! Once I swapped the boca crumbles with 2 packages of ground turkey. It worked perfectly! For a crowd I like to put out little bowls of sour cream, chives, shredded cheddar, and cornbread. YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
Even my meat loving boyfriend liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claudia Margarita Jarquin

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Managua, Managua, Nicaragua
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
Made this last night for the first time. I'm 90% vegetarian and thought this would be a good hearty meal and was quite happy with it. I was afraid that the meatless part would be textured in a weird way but it was fine (I used Trader Joe's Meatless Meatballs). It was nice and thick and filling. The only thing I did was up the heat with red chili sauce and added some elbow macaroni. I have enough for the week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jo mietzel
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
I thought this chili was excellent! Mine came out a bit watery for my taste, so I added a can of tomato paste. I also didn't use as much salt as it called for. Seemed like quite a bit. Everyone is different with their salt taste preference as well, so I think it's better to start with a bit less. Thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Fultz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Yes, this is the best chili in the world!! However, I exclude the garbanzo beans and veggie burger crumbles (just not a fan in general). I double up on the black & kidney beans and add chili beans - so I put in about 5 cans of beans total. Also, I exclude the tomatoes and add tomato sauce & ketchup to give it the tomato-y taste. I make this batch for myself, then make another batch for my husband and just had turkey or hamburger. Perfect for a nice chilly (no pun intended) evening!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa Harms

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
This chili is so good, probably the best chili I've had. I made homemade "ground beef" using a cauliflower based recipe, and you would have never known it didn't have real meat in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Lewis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
So great and super healthy! I used low sodium fire roasted tomatoes and also added spicy tomato juice for liquid and flavor. Adding carrots and zucchini made this a summer favorite at our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
I freaking LOVE this recipe! I've made it about six times now, and there are a few things I tweak. I use mushrooms, more tomatoes, and fewer cans of beans. I also add another bay leaf in there. Amazing with extra sharp cheddar and avocado slices on top. Ugh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Niamh Falter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
One of the most delicious vegetarian chili recipes I've tried. I did, however, use garlic powder because I did not have fresh on hand. I used one green pepper and half the amount of veggie protein and added a little fresh cilantro. We cut the chili powder in half as well, and it lent the perfect amount of spice. I topped this with veggie cheese shreds and sliced green onions. Very flavorful and hearty chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,036) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Vegetarian Chili in the World

This tasty chili is packed with healthy beans and veggies.

Meatless Three-Bean Chili

See how to make a tasty vegetarian chili with three beans and corn.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States