The Best Ugly Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
My turkey turned out great- very moist and not dry ,especially the breast meat. The real trick is to turn the bird over without tearing up the turkey or burning yourself. Be careful when you do that. I had a 14 lb bird and that is probably the largest I would do this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Jackson, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Great way to make a turkey. Super Moist, super delicious. I swear the best way to make a turkey is to make it in a roaster. I bought an electric roaster, and it always makes it great; this made it even better. The name of this fits perfectly because the turkey comes out incredibly ugly; it fell apart during cooking, doesn't stay in tact, and don't even think about carving it like a normal turkey. But, on the flip side, it all just fell apart, fell off the bone, and when I just had the breast fall off, I was able to slice it and it worked perfectly. Will continue to make it this way in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Randy Finger

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Elk Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
We loved this recipe, I didn't think it was terribly ugly.(Ha Ha) Great taste and very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Murray, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Kirksey, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
incredible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Falls, New Jersey, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
Like the title says, it was great, tender. but it fell apart when I turned it upside right to cut. Didn't bother anyone that it was ugly as I cut the meat and put on a platter to serve. Everyone loved it. I'll do it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JSTWINKLE5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
I made this turkey for a dinner party. It was the BEST turkey. I have never made a good turkey the times I tried before this recipe. The only thing I did different is I coated the turkey in a combination of garlic, olive oil, and italian seasoning. I followed the cooking instructions to the letter.My inlaws really enjoyed eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Maker of Dinner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
Amazing! I used this method for my first turkey - adding rosemary & basil. It was delicious and ugly - as promised!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Ali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oneida, New York, USA
Living In: Woburn, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
I made this for Christmas 08. It was awesome. I added a secret ingrediant (about 10 ounes of caffeine free citris soda (7-up). I also cooked it in a turkey roaster instead of the oven. It was great and the gravy I made from the drippings was incredible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
This was my 1st time making a turkey, and it was perfect! Even my too-hot oven couldn't ruin it! I used stuffing, not just an apple, but otherwise followed the recipe, and it was ugly and delicious! I'm not afraid to cook turkeys anymore!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dorian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
wow! i made this for Thanksgiving, this was unbelievably the best turkey i ever tasted! how could something so simple be so good! ...yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by onecent42

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Roanoke Rapids, North Carolina, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The World's Best Turkey

A bottle of Champagne makes this moist bird something to celebrate!

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

How to Roast a Turkey

See a simple beginner-friendly method for roasting a moist, beautiful turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States