The Best Thai Peanut Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
I followed the basics for this recipe and was completely amazed at how much flavor came from these ingredients! I altered some of the ratios (about 1/2 the peanut butter and 2x the coconut milk that it called for) and I left out the fish sauce because I didn't have it. It was PERFECT for the thai stir fry I made. I always assumed the peanut sauces that you find in a jar were really complex, but I will NEVER buy another one after I tried this. It whips up faster than the stir fry! And that's saying something...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
Didn't disguise the peanut butter taste at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by funkyme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
Oh my God...I made this sauce for a rice, chicken, and scallops dish for my fiance for supper. It was the best flavor I have ever had save for a few select sauces my honey and I came up with together. You are amazing and I am grateful forever to you for this amazing recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
The best!!! I use fish sauce instead of soy, or vice versa, depending on what I have in pantry. Used on pasta and rice noodles, with scallions, mmmmm!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shakenbake

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
This sauce is waaay too peanuty -- even after I increased the coconut milk to 1 cup. Next time around, I'm cutting the peanut butter down to 1 cup, keeping the coconut milk at 1 cup, and adding a few tablespoon of oil (maybe seasame oil).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
My family loves Thai food, but we didn't care for this recipe. All I could taste was peanut butter and it was really thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
It was ok, but for the price of making you can get better. It was kind of bland. I had to quadruple the amount of hot sauce AND add hot oil as well to even feel the heat a little bit. Every peanut sauce I have ever had was spicy, so I felt this was an important thing. It's a good base, but you do have to tweak it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
I really wanted to make a Thai peanut sauce but was afraid that my mom wouldn't be able to tolerate it, as she is prone to heartburn and sensitive to certain spices. I tried a (much) milder version of this sauce and we all loved it! It was still flavorful but without the "kick" of the original. I substituted almond milk for coconut milk, used only 1 1/2 tablespoons of soy sauce, and omitted the fish sauce, hot sauce, ginger root, and cilantro. I also added a tablespoon of lemon juice, 1/2 tablespoon of apple cider vinegar, 2 tablespoons of white sugar, and a tablespoon of sesame oil. I let the flavors mingle in the refrigerator for a while, then heated it up on the stove just before serving with rice. Thanks for the inspiration!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
This was a good starting off point but I had to doctor it up to taste, hence the 4 star rating. Because so many people complained that all they tasted was peanut butter I doubled everything except the peanut butter but I didn't like it at all! I couldn't taste the peanut butter at all, all I could taste was salty soy sauce (and I used the low sodium stuff too!). So I just kept adding in peanut butter until it was how I liked and I used a full can of coconut milk. I also added in quite a bit of sweet hoisin sauce because I used natural peanut butter which isn't sweetened and I wanted some sweet in there. Lastly I added a dash of sesame oil and for the hot sauce I used "chile garlic sauce" that you find in the asian section of the grocery store and it's thick and chunky and HOT! I used this to dress a side dish/salad for a summer party that had soba noodles, cabbage, carrots, red bell pepper and green onion and then I garnished with the cilantro. VERY yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middlebury, Vermont, USA
Living In: Mansfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
This is 5 star with the change of using a whole can of coconut milk, with no water. I haven't tried it using the recipe amount, but I think that there would be too much peanut butter. It is better not cooking it, because the oil separates from the peanut butter. Great recipe with complex flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Thai Peanut Sauce

See how to make a simple no-cook peanut sauce.

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States