The Best Thai Coconut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
This Was So GOOD! I Added Chicken Instead Of Shrimp (Let The Chunks Of Chicken Simmer In Chile Base For 30 Min, Then Let Simmer WIth Coconut Milk For 45 More Minutes So The Chicken Would Infuse WIth Flavor And Be Tender). Also Added Rice Noodles (I Suggest Boiling Them Separatly, Then Adding Them To A Bowl With The Soup Placed On Top- The Noodles Will Suck Up The Broth If You Add The Dried Noodles To Cook In The Soup.) So Good, Could Also Add Bean Sprouts Or Anything Else You Can Think Of!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
172 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gilbert, Arizona, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
Holy smokes, this was AWESOME!!! My boyfriend snarfed it, and I loved it, too. My sister wasn't too hot about the chunks of lemongrass. I liked them, but if they bother you, you can always buy lemongrass paste, I suppose. Anyways, this was fast, easy, and total comfort food. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cali Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jacinto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ALFANN02
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
SoOooo Good!! Just as good as my favorite Thai restraunts coconut soup, IF NOT BETTER! Made it as written and it was FANTASTIC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALFANN02

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
The best soup I've ever made. My husband & I loved it. My daughter liked it, but was a bit too spicey for her.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
GREAT RECIPE! I didn't have lemon grass so I substituted green onion (cut on the diagonal for presentation) and added carrots - as well. I did only use ONE can of the coconut milk because I personally find it too overpowering with more. It was easy and so delicious! I served it with spring rolls as a side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PREGOCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Dhahran, Ash Sharqiyah, Saudi Arabia
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
This was wonderful! So rich and flavorful, and fairly easy to prepare. I could eat the delicious, rich broth by itself, but the shrimp and mushrooms add a wonderful flavor and texture. I followed the recipe exactly, except I used veg broth. Next time, I'll add either red pepper flakes or more curry paste to give it that Thai kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
Fabulous recipe! flavor is spot on! heat is perfect! I swapped some fish for the shrimp, cut the amount of mushrooms and added some sliced onion, minced garlic, red pepper, and some edamame. served over a bit of Jasmine rice..MM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
We love this soup! I added 1 chicken breast sliced thin in bitesize pieces while the soup was in the simmer because when we get this at our favorite Thai place, this is how they make it! We had never had shrimp in it before, but what a great addition! I did not use Shitake mushrooms because I had white mushrooms, but it would be fabulous. Can't add too much ginger so don't worry about the amount listed in the recipe. I grated it using a microplane. My other additions were galanga and dried red thai chilies 'cause HE likes it hot. I used about a tsp of the tube lemongrass (cause fresh is sometimes hard to find here in the"sticks".) I made the entire recipe and we ate most of it in one sitting. There's just enough for me for lunch today. (YAY!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
This easy recipe made a delicious soup. I didn't mince the lemongrass but bruised it and cut it into big chunks. I put these and some kaffir lime leaves into the pot while the soup simmered, but took out the lemongrass and lime leaves before adding the fish (I used skate wings and scallops instead of the shrimp). It was an excellent meal, and I'm really glad I found it here. Thanks for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
This soup was awesome! I did not add the salt at the end. I cooked rice vermicilli and put it in the soup after I finished cooking it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caribqueen2009

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charlotte Amalie, Saint Thomas, U. S. Virgin Islands
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 327) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

The Best Thai Peanut Sauce

See how to make a simple no-cook peanut sauce.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States