The Best Thai Coconut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
I have made this many times and I absolutely love it. It is so easy, all in one pot and everyone into the pool kind of cooking. I use the lemongrass in a tube when I can't find the real thing and it works perfectly. I have also substituted chicken for shrimp and portobello mushrooms for shiitake with great results. Today I used all of them together and loved it. I keep thinking I don't like mushrooms and them remember how much I love this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Boomer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
Getting ready to make it again, but with chicken and chunks of tomato. It is better than what we have had in several Thai restaurants! We also serve it over/with Thai style rice noodles which gives us a more authentic experience. Thank you for this wonderful rendition of a favorite dish :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pesto

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
Fabulous! I cut the recipe down to 3 servings & it was still wonderful! Will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
Amazing, amazing, amazing! This is just as good as the kind I buy at the local Thai place!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Alstead, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
I made a one change to make it pescetarian friendly, but I believe it was still amazing! Instead of using chicken stock, I used water and vegetarian "Better Than Bouillon." So, I used 4 cups water to 2 teaspoons of Better Than Bouillon. The Bouillon is very salty, so I didn't need to add any extra salt in the last step (and I love salty foods! So, if you prefer less salty food, use less of the Bouillon.) Also, I made some rice noodles and they were a great base for the soup. I will definitely make this again! I loved it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
Simply amazing,I have had this recipe in my bookmarks for over a month and I just finally finished cooking it and it simmering while I'm filling out my report. I love this style of cooking it just hits to the soul were my body can detect this is real food, but with that knock you out punch of flavor. The recipe gave me the foundation for my sauce mix, but I added more chicken broth flavor because the liquid broth was too plain so I then added the concentrated bouillon to my flavor and BOO_YAH its a HIT thanks Miss for this recipe. Cant wait to show off and send my mother in law a bowl of this over some rice she's going to think now I see why my son married her lol Im taking all credit !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
this came out awesome.. but i had to make adjustments as my red curry paste was growing hair :( .. i scaled this down to two servings.. so in place of the 1/2 tsp of red curry paste i added 3/4 tsp of garlic chili paste and also 3/4 tsp curry.. we love spicy.. im sure we added more lime juice than what was called for.. threw in some cooked rice noodles to the dish and we were in heaven.. ty so much for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
It was alright. I've been going to a local Thai restaurant for years and always enjoyed their coconut shrimp soup. I thought this recipe was the closest to the one they make. I really didn't like the idea of cilantro... It's like WHAT? It's a Mexican spice, has nothing to do with an Asian soup. I'm sorry it takes away from it for sure. What happened to red onions? You gotta put red onion in your coconut soup! One more thing. Thai kitchen is famous for its spiciness. You gotta use jalapeno peppers or cayenne for sure. Also, I must agree that 3 cans of coconut milk is too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
I used this recipe to make a healthier version of a Thai soup. They are usually laden with fat and salt. My substitutions are just a heaping tablespoon of Thai & True Red Curry Paste (mail ordered from Food Fight in Oregon - lower salt and ungodly good), low salt chicken broth, 2 cans of low fat coconut milk. I also use a T-spoon of the paste lemongrass because that's all I can get. I have been making it with both shrimp and chicken. It has been pronounced as "restaurant quality" by everyone fortunate enough to try it. It also doesn't seem to take anywhere near 35 minutes to prep. 5 stars but I'd happily give it 10!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 353) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States