The Best Thai Coconut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
I just finished making this soup and the flavor is awesome!!! I did have one problem though, I went to my Thai store and bought the lemon grass; an ingredient I have never worked with and I asked the owner if I should leave the LG in my soup or take it out. He said, "cut small and leave it in". Well, I don't know if my LG was old or what, but it was like chewing on straw.. So, after 1 hour of simmering and no change, I removed it before added the rest of my ingredients. After that, it was all good and worth making!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
This soup is amazing!!! There is this fancy restaurant in Paris where we eat this delicious soup and my husband loves it. I was looking for a recipe for it and after I found this one i decided to give it a try. It came up exactly like the one in Paris! It's absolutely divine, rich in so many flavors! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
This recipe is fantastic. I used lite canned coconut milk, and I couldn't taste the difference. I'm not sure why people are saying three cans of coconut milk was too much--it was delicious if made as the recipe was written. My husband usually stops at one or two bowls when we have soup, and he had three full bowls of this stuff! He's a big foodie, and loves trying new flavors, and he said this recipe is a new favorite. I also used lemon grass paste instead of lemon grass stalk as Jessica suggested in her follow-up comment, and it was great. I can't say enough good things about this recipe. Thanks for submitting, Jessica!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
This is a great recipe with true authentic flavor. I'm not sure why some other reviewers are complaining about hard or crunchy pieces of ginger and lemongrass--the recipe clearly states to grate the fresh ginger and mince the lemongrass. If that is done properly, there are no hard, crunchy pieces. The soup is rich and filling. Next time I might try using the lite coconut milk to see what difference it makes in the overall presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
There's another Thai soup on this site by Chef John that has similar ingredients to this one, but is much better in my opinion. First, I personally feel that the hard crunchy pieces of ginger and lemongrass take away from the soup. In the other recipe he simmer's them in the chicken broth then filters them into the main pot. There's also more lime, chicken thigh instead of shrimp, garlic and red onion, which adds much more flavor. Overall, this soup is ok, but the other spicy Thai from Chef John is better...check it out and try for yourself
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Best flavor! Closest I've ever come to my favorite Thai restaurant. I tried it with a couple changes as well to make a meal of it. I added a chopped chicken breast and a 1/2 cup of rice. It was delicious and also froze well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Excellent soup! Tasted very similar to the soup at our favorite Thai restaurant. Sauteed 1 TBSP curry powder with 2 shallots, 5 or 6 cloves of minced garlic and 1 TBSP of chili sauce instead of curry paste. Also didn't have lemongrass, substituted with grated lemon peel at the beginning with the ginger and curry. Added red and yellow pepper, also swapped chicken for shrimp!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
Very good - used coconut water in place of chicken broth; use the whole amount of curry paste or it's not hot enough; used tofu for Daniel fast
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
Waaaay too much coconut milk! If you use this like a curry (e.g., only a little bit of liquid) I suppose its ok, but as a soup soup, I wouldn't recommend it. Good flavor from the non-coconut elements, but the coconut milk weighs it down (and kills any nutritional value). I would modify by adding only 1 can of coconut, chicken and shrimp, and doubling the chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Was not a fan of the chunks of lemon grass. Kidlets disliked it, excluding the shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 31-40 (of 329) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

The Best Thai Peanut Sauce

See how to make a simple no-cook peanut sauce.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States