The Best Thai Coconut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
This soup was amazing! Since my husband is vegetarian, we tried this with rice as other suggested instead of the shrimp. Also added a little bit of tabasco. Next time will try adding some bell peppers, cashews and pinapple. Though it was amazing as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
How about 6 stars?! We loved this recipe, it was very authentic. My 3 year old could not stop eating it! For my lemongrass, I decided to cut it lengthwise, I actually used 2 4" stalks (it is like a bay leaf and you just have to find it to pull it out), we do not care for the fibrous texture. I used chicken and sauteed it in the curry mixture before the broth was added (per another review). Instead of rice we used rice noodles (cooked separate and added to the bowl to pour the soup over). I also added bean sprouts, thai basil and an optional side of chile paste on a side plate for additions. As the poster of the recipe commented on, the curry paste is definitely better more than 2 tsp., we actually did a bit more than a Tbsp by the time we were done tasting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
Truly excellent! I added a bit more sugar though... This will be added to my favorites list because it's so easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
We love this soup! Thanks for submitting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarkBlair

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hollidaysburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: West Liberty, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
This soup is excellent! I use the coconut milk broth as a base, and add an subtract items based on what I have available, e.g., mushrooms, pumpkin, squash, sweet potato, tofu... Always turns out rich, creamy and satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
The soup shrimp soup ever
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
BEST THAI COCONUT SOUP EVER! I followed everything with the four following exceptions: 1. I used chicken thighs. I baked them while my soup was simmering, and then cut them into chunks before adding them to my soup. 2. I used the lemongrass from the tube. You need to use about 3 tbsp. 3. I used 1 tbsp of curry paste for added flavor. 4. I used portobello mushrooms versus shiitake. Once I added the lime juice I let it simmer for another 10 minutes to make sure the sauce was creamy and not oily spots. Along with everyone else I served it with brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ricks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amber_eileen
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
I made this recipe vegan and it turned out great. Instead of using shrimp and mushrooms (fiance doesn't like them) I used carrots, broccoli, bok choy, baby corn cobs and bamboo shoots. I also used soy sauce instead of fish sauce and for the chicken broth I used a "chicken flavour" bouillon that is made from all vegetable ingredients. I also used the lemon grass paste as I went to two different grocery stores and could not find fresh at either. I felt after adding 3 cans of coconut milk (I used light coconut milk) that a lot of the great intense flavours got lost, that being said I had to add a lot more lemon grass and curry (I used green curry) and a bit more sugar and soy sauce. Next time I would probably reduce it to two cans. I also added some cayenne pepper and chilli flakes for spice. Overall, the soup turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Excellent soup! Used red curry sauce and some hot peppers. 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westbrook, Maine, USA
Living In: Hiram, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
I was really worried my two teenage daughters wouldn't eat it, simply because the smell after adding the fish sauce. They admitted they were worried too! However, after letting the ingredients do their thing-my daughters and I thought this was super tasty! Definitely will make again sometime, but will be adding some hot Sriracha sauce to my bowl. Could have done without the lemongrass pieces, but overall-very good! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John_3_3_3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Schertz, Texas, USA
Living In: Manitowoc, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 141-150 (of 339) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

The Best Thai Peanut Sauce

See how to make a simple no-cook peanut sauce.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States