The Best Thai Coconut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
It was alright. I've been going to a local Thai restaurant for years and always enjoyed their coconut shrimp soup. I thought this recipe was the closest to the one they make. I really didn't like the idea of cilantro... It's like WHAT? It's a Mexican spice, has nothing to do with an Asian soup. I'm sorry it takes away from it for sure. What happened to red onions? You gotta put red onion in your coconut soup! One more thing. Thai kitchen is famous for its spiciness. You gotta use jalapeno peppers or cayenne for sure. Also, I must agree that 3 cans of coconut milk is too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
I used this recipe to make a healthier version of a Thai soup. They are usually laden with fat and salt. My substitutions are just a heaping tablespoon of Thai & True Red Curry Paste (mail ordered from Food Fight in Oregon - lower salt and ungodly good), low salt chicken broth, 2 cans of low fat coconut milk. I also use a T-spoon of the paste lemongrass because that's all I can get. I have been making it with both shrimp and chicken. It has been pronounced as "restaurant quality" by everyone fortunate enough to try it. It also doesn't seem to take anywhere near 35 minutes to prep. 5 stars but I'd happily give it 10!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
Amazing! Even though just used white champignons and not oyster mushrooms. After my third time making it I got this just the way we like it. I used 4 tbsp of mild curry, 4 tbsp of lime/lemon. My husband's favorite soup now:) yay!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
Thank you so much, Jessica, for posting this recipe! I have made homemade tom kha kai (my favorite food in the world) twice before from two different recipes, both much more complicated than this one and both disappointing. This recipe is AWESOME! I tried to stay as true to the original as possible, but I had to make some adjustments for health and convenience purposes. I used unrefined coconut oil instead of vegetable oil. I substituted 2 grated carrots (added at the same time as the ginger) instead of brown sugar. I used 1.5 lbs of chicken instead of shrimp and 1/2 lb of portobella mushrooms instead of shiitake. I also had to substitute 1 can of coconut milk by using "SO Delicious" original coconut milk (it's like using Sunny D instead of real orange juice) and 1/2 lemon peel, grated, instead of lemongrass. Regardless, this soup was to die for, and this is a great base recipe. I think the coconut milk to broth ratio was perfect, and I will make this again and again. You could definitely add assorted veggies (thai chilis, savoy cabbage, bamboo shoots, bell peppers, sliced carrots), but this recipe gives you the jumping off point for an easy but tasty tom kha kai. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candyce Bradbury

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
This soup was so TASTY! My only complaint was the chewy bits of lemongrass. The next time I make this I would cut the lemongrass in 2-inch pieces and then remove them before serving. I didn't follow the recipe to a tee as I wanted to use up 3/4 cup of leftover coconut milk. I cut all the other ingredients in half and the soup was still super TASTY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mirlicious

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
I also add crunchy spaghetti squash...Cut your raw squash in half lengthwise...run a knife around the outside of the seeds then take a spoon and scrape out all of the seeds in one big scrape...place your squash cut side down in 1-2" of water...cover with wax paper...microwave the squash half for only 7 minutes...while I am cooking the second squash half I run cold water on the back of the first one for about 1-2 minutes...this permits me to quickly, without further steaming, scrape the long strands our of the squash leaving it still crunchy...I add this to the soup at the last minute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
Very tasty. Completely pleased. Not spicy at all. Love the cilantro. I added curry paste to taste. I made double batch and much went to waste, only because it yielded too much. Its appetizer like. This is not a dinner soup, this will not fill you up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Flat Rock, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
I really liked this recipe, but Jason wasn't a huge fan of the mushrooms. Get the dried shitake ones in the asian aisle. Would like to try again with lite coconut milk. Added baby corn and would like more vegetables next time. Could be spicier Used the pre-cooked salad shrimp Will make again just so I can use the fish sauce. Kept the lemon grass whole and just retrieved them after simmering and grated the lime peel right into the soup also used ginger instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brendenj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
Pretty Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RyLi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

Displaying results 141-150 (of 406) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States