The Best Thai Coconut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Fantastic recipe with a broth just bursting with wonderful flavors. We generally stayed with the recipe other than adding about 3/4 pound of sea scallops, quartered and switching 2 out of 3 cans of regular coconut milk to the lite type to moderate the amount of saturated fat. Jessica, the recipe’s author, suggested in her review that some people prefer whole stalks of fresh lemongrass be added to the soup rather than mincing it, and we would do that in the future as the crunch from tiny pieces didn’t do much for us. We would also follow her lead to increase the red curry paste. While all the steps in the directions call for stirring the soup as successive ingredients are added, it doesn’t indicate to do so after adding the shrimp. It was only stirred once, and that was a mistake as some pieces of shrimp were a bit tough probably because of hot spots from using a gas stove . . . next time, the soup will be stirred often and possibly lopping off about 1 minute of cooking time during this next to last step. Jessica, you rock!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Photo by ripken7
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
This recipe was fast, easy, and delicious! I added shrimp to mine. The only thing I would change: make a horizontal cut in the lemon grass, and before serving take it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
It was good but it didn't wow me. I served with rice and scallions on the side and threw the leftover rice and onions in the leftover soup. The next day I cut up some potatoes and cooked them in chicken broth. Added them to the soup and with the rice and potatoes it was more like a stew. Much better but still needed more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy Kitty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Newark, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
Would not change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GINGERPET

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
Excellent soup!!! Thanks for sharing it! As good Or better than the restaurant variety. I didn't use curry because it's not my favorite flavor (plus I wanted it to be whiter in color). So good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Milly Suazo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barrio Tejas, Humacao, Puerto Rico
Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
Outstanding! I added a shallot and celery to have similar vegetables to my favorite Thai restaurant in Independence (Cleveland), Ohio and the flavor was just perfect. This ones a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
Great soup. Everyone loved it. Spice factor depends on the type of curry paste you use, and mine DEFINITELY added a whole lot of spice. I ersonally thought there was way too many mushrooms in it, but maybe I just sliced them too thin(?). Didn't deter from the taste though. Great recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
This was absolutely delicious with so many layers of flavor. I didn't have fresh cilantro, so substituted thai basil and served over bismati rice to make more of an entree. My husband and I both loved it for dinner, and I have to confess that I had more for breakfast the next morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
This is super yummy! Just as good as any I have had in a restaurant. But, on a side note- I got kind of sick to my stomach after I ate it. I don't know if my body just isn't used to the amount of fat in the coconut milk or what. Who knows- but it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
Excellent recipe! I added 1/3 cup of cooked rice to it instead of serving on rice. Will be doing this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 357) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States