The Best Thai Coconut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
SOOOO good! This is one of my favorite foods and I have always thought I could never make it as good as a restaurant and never tried it. I was wrong! Its perfect and I didn't even have any curry to put in. I also used chicken. I have a lemongrass plant and a lime tree so the fresh ingredients helped a ton! Def don't skip the fish sauce. I found it at H.E.B. Great recipe and a new staple on my menu!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
I don't think I've ever had all the ingredients at one time, but this still always turns out great! Lemon grass and fish sauce are ones I've never had -- I substitute green onions and lemon juice for the lemon grass and half soy, half worchestire sauce for the fish sauce. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lolastorm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moscow, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
Having been to Thailand many times myself and done Thai cooking classes there I was skeptical about some of the ingredients in this recipe. I still used glanagal instead of ginger and used 1 1/2 cans of coconut milk instead of 3, but what a winner! It tastes so authentic and is absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MARYJEANS11
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
Love with!! Follow as directed but added presoaked rice noodle before the shrimp and add way more red curry paste!! Company with nice company and some fine wine ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARYJEANS11

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
BIG HIT! Served over Jasmine Rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by superstepmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
***** I've had many versions of this soup, even in Thailand, but this one is the best! Instead of mincing lemon grass, I *bruise* the stalks before adding to the soup. Also, I prefer kaffir lime leaf (2) to the lime juice and remove them before serving. Many thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
This recipe is a real keeper. I did add a bit more curry as the originator advised since we like everything hot and spicy. A must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Elkhart, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
doubled the lemon grass, and added 50% more ginger. This is basically Tom Yum! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smart cookie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
Followed the directions exactly and was amazed at how well it turned out. Smelled and tasted like I had ordered my favorite soup at a fancy Thai restaurant. Thanks Jessica, well done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
so good! I couldn't find lemon grass- or the paste- so I added 2 finely chopped tablespoons of leek. I also used small pre cooked frozen shrimp. The flavor was great but next time I will buy lemon grass and fresh shrimp! yum. yum yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 324) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

The Best Thai Peanut Sauce

See how to make a simple no-cook peanut sauce.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States