The Best Thai Coconut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
This is a four star because I consider it a great base and very easy to adjust ingredients to what is on hand. Using red curry paste, I more than doubled the paste, but still was a pretty mild dish. Next time, I'll either add some spicier curry paste or perhaps some thai chiles or at the least cayenne pepper to kick it up a notch (or several). Also will probably substitute sliced chicken as shrimp is never a big hit in my house. Cook longer to allow flavors to meld. Try chopped bell pepper too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thompson Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
Amazing...except I used raw Coconut Palm Sugar and a bit of raw honey for the sweetness, and raw coconut nut oil, and added lime zest and a little fresh thai basil! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dani7la

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
I am SO happy to have found this recipe. The broth tastes exactly like the Tom Kha Kai soup I used to have at my favorite Thai restaurant. I've always wanted to make it, but all the recipes I looked up had crazy ingredients like galangal or lime leaves. I love that this recipe has ingredients that are easy for me to find without sacrificing any of the amazing taste! I did end up adding about three tablespoons of red curry paste to make it spicy enough, and next time I will definitely just throw the lemongrass in whole and then take it out...I wasn't a fan of the little fibrous pieces. I used chicken instead of shrimp and added water chestnuts. Next time I'm going to make a vegetarian version using this broth with tofu, carrots, broccoli, snap peas, baby corn, water chestnuts and mushrooms!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
No leftovers = fantastic recipe! I accidentally got two cans of coconut milk instead of three so substituted one can of whole cow milk and I have to say I think it was good that I did because the coconut milk was so rich even with just two cans that it may have been overwhelming if there had been three. I added quite a bit of extra curry as well as mixing green onions with the cilantro for a garnish. It was so good! Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Adams

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
Great recipe, brings authentic soup home however I would add more curry paste and decrease the coconut milk
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
This was AWESOME! tonight served in a bowl over steam fried noodles with dutch crunch rolls on the side. I split the lemongrass stalk in 4 pieces and then removed it just before serving as the recipe submitter suggested in their review. This soup was amazing! Easy too and next time, definitely more red curry paste. Thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
This was very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
This is a staple weeknight recipe at our house. Easy, fast and delicious. We add rice noodles and corn, it makes a meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
This tastes exactly like the soup from my favorite Thai restaurant. I crock-potted everything, adding the shrimp late in the cooking process, followed by the coconut milk about a half hour later (be sure to do this on low as that stuff will curdle if you get it too hot). Thank you so much to Jessica for posting this. You rock!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
I used only 2 cans of coconut milk and this was still too much (I love coconut anything). Next time I would only use one and would also add waaay more lime juice (to give it that sweet and sour Thai flavour), more lemongrass, and possibly some lime leaves and fresh Thai chilies. I also added two heads of bok choy to make it more of a meal, which turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 336) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

The Best Thai Peanut Sauce

See how to make a simple no-cook peanut sauce.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States