The Best Thai Coconut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
Waaaay too much coconut milk! If you use this like a curry (e.g., only a little bit of liquid) I suppose its ok, but as a soup soup, I wouldn't recommend it. Good flavor from the non-coconut elements, but the coconut milk weighs it down (and kills any nutritional value). I would modify by adding only 1 can of coconut, chicken and shrimp, and doubling the chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Was not a fan of the chunks of lemon grass. Kidlets disliked it, excluding the shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Photo by mb
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
I made the recipe to serve 5. Used 1 reg can of coconut milk and one light. Perfect. Did not mince lemongrass and crushed the ginger. Added a little more shrimp (1 lb) and mushrooms (white button).Best Thai soup I've ever made. Served with jasmine rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Haven, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Port Jervis, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
This soup is totally awesome! We made it for ourselves & then for a dinner party - everyone LOVED it! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Love this soup simple enough for a rookie but tastes first class.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
This is a nice dish with several modifications. Reduce the coconut milk to two, potentially even 1 1/2 cans. I used two and it was a bit much. I cooked two lemongrass stalks in the soup and then removed them before I served the soup. Mincing one stalk is simply too little flavor. I amped up the red curry paste, adding 3 tsp. Next time, I'll add even more. Next time, I'll add more mushrooms and some kind of green, probably bok choy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
This is so easy, I can make this in much less than the estimated time given. This is a 30 min meal for me. I usually add thin rice noodles (about 200 grams for 2 adults and a toddler) and more veggies - bell pepper or baby corn works well - to make it more of a main meal. Also, as other reviewers have mentioned, I have made it with chicken breast (sliced very thin, just add it to the hot soup and the slices will cook in 3 min) which also tastes delicious. A great recipe to me is a forgiving recipe, and this is it: play around with sugar, ginger, thai curry levels, it always tastes good. Easily augment it with additional favorites, too! I also dislike the chopped lemongrass, etc, so after the first step of simmering all the spices, I just remove the lemongrass and ginger pieces (that way I don't have to grate anything, just chop roughly), by simply pouring the soup through a sieve and the back into the pot again. Sure, it requires an additional dirty dish, but its so much faster than spooning/fishing all the bits out. Update: still a favorite of ours, especially in the cold winter months.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
This recipe is amazing!!! I don’t often review, but this one deserves more than 5 stars, if that were possible! It’s pretty versatile. I followed the recipe when I made it last night, minus the lemongrass (which I didn’t have). I subbed lemon juice instead. I added garlic and extra curry paste. I used chicken instead of shrimp, and used coconut oil in addition to olive oil. I also use REAL chicken stock instead of storebought stuff, which really makes it super-healthy, especially in the cold weather! I served it over rice noodles. No matter how I vary it, it is so yummy every time I make it! Definitely a standard at our house now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
AHHHHH, my tummy is SO happy!!! Added very thinly sliced chicken instead of shrimp, regular white mushrooms (couldn't find shiitake), peas, carrots and then fresh spinach at the very end instead of cilantro. Oh, and chili oil to spice it up a little. Ridiculously delicious! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melissious

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
Absolutely delicious and easy to make. I added a bit more curry paste to taste and otherwise wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 370) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States