The Best Thai Coconut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
This is so easy, I can make this in much less than the estimated time given. This is a 30 min meal for me. I usually add thin rice noodles (about 200 grams for 2 adults and a toddler) and more veggies - bell pepper or baby corn works well - to make it more of a main meal. Also, as other reviewers have mentioned, I have made it with chicken breast (sliced very thin, just add it to the hot soup and the slices will cook in 3 min) which also tastes delicious. A great recipe to me is a forgiving recipe, and this is it: play around with sugar, ginger, thai curry levels, it always tastes good. Easily augment it with additional favorites, too! I also dislike the chopped lemongrass, etc, so after the first step of simmering all the spices, I just remove the lemongrass and ginger pieces (that way I don't have to grate anything, just chop roughly), by simply pouring the soup through a sieve and the back into the pot again. Sure, it requires an additional dirty dish, but its so much faster than spooning/fishing all the bits out. Update: still a favorite of ours, especially in the cold winter months.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
This recipe is amazing!!! I don’t often review, but this one deserves more than 5 stars, if that were possible! It’s pretty versatile. I followed the recipe when I made it last night, minus the lemongrass (which I didn’t have). I subbed lemon juice instead. I added garlic and extra curry paste. I used chicken instead of shrimp, and used coconut oil in addition to olive oil. I also use REAL chicken stock instead of storebought stuff, which really makes it super-healthy, especially in the cold weather! I served it over rice noodles. No matter how I vary it, it is so yummy every time I make it! Definitely a standard at our house now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
AHHHHH, my tummy is SO happy!!! Added very thinly sliced chicken instead of shrimp, regular white mushrooms (couldn't find shiitake), peas, carrots and then fresh spinach at the very end instead of cilantro. Oh, and chili oil to spice it up a little. Ridiculously delicious! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melissious

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
Absolutely delicious and easy to make. I added a bit more curry paste to taste and otherwise wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
Had to add more paste. But I just get a generic brand so it may be more bland than some. Other than that: fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elray

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
I made this according to the recipe, but used chicken instead of shrimp due to an allergy and added dried kaffir lime leaves. I tasted it as I added the ingredients and it was the best after the first can of coconut milk. I ended up adding all three, which I now regret, but if I make it again I would just use one. This should help the fact that the soup was too broth-y; with three cans of coconut milk it needs more "stuff" in it--more mushrooms, baby corn, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
Absolutely Fabulous! I added 4 tsp of Thai Chili Garlic Sauce and used low sodium vegetable broth instead of chicken broth. No salt needed. Make sure to chop the lemon grass up very fine to achieve a lovely crispy-crunchy effect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
Great! Though the lemon-grass doesn't cook so you need actually to remove it before adding the coconut milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
I loved this soup. I did add more curry paste and a bit more fish sauce. I like my foods to have a lot of zip. Instead of brown sugar I used maple syrup. (It's better for you.) I served it with rice that we put in our bowls with the soup. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Lucas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
This was absolutely delicious! I made it as specified though I didn't think it was spicy enough and I generally don't like anything too spicy. I think this could be due to variations in brands of curry paste like the author said. We kept adding a lot of Sriacha sauce as we were eating it. I think I'll try less coconut milk next time, not so much because of the flavor but because of the fat content. Yikes! Also - this was the first time I had grated ginger and it takes more ginger than I thought. A good work out too! The lemongrass was much more difficult to cut than I expected, very dense and pulpy but what a lovely flavor it adds. I'll definitely make this again, especially as a treat for guests. Sure to impress.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 354) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States