The Best Thai Coconut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Love this soup simple enough for a rookie but tastes first class.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
This is a nice dish with several modifications. Reduce the coconut milk to two, potentially even 1 1/2 cans. I used two and it was a bit much. I cooked two lemongrass stalks in the soup and then removed them before I served the soup. Mincing one stalk is simply too little flavor. I amped up the red curry paste, adding 3 tsp. Next time, I'll add even more. Next time, I'll add more mushrooms and some kind of green, probably bok choy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
This is so easy, I can make this in much less than the estimated time given. This is a 30 min meal for me. I usually add thin rice noodles (about 200 grams for 2 adults and a toddler) and more veggies - bell pepper or baby corn works well - to make it more of a main meal. Also, as other reviewers have mentioned, I have made it with chicken breast (sliced very thin, just add it to the hot soup and the slices will cook in 3 min) which also tastes delicious. A great recipe to me is a forgiving recipe, and this is it: play around with sugar, ginger, thai curry levels, it always tastes good. Easily augment it with additional favorites, too! I also dislike the chopped lemongrass, etc, so after the first step of simmering all the spices, I just remove the lemongrass and ginger pieces (that way I don't have to grate anything, just chop roughly), by simply pouring the soup through a sieve and the back into the pot again. Sure, it requires an additional dirty dish, but its so much faster than spooning/fishing all the bits out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
This recipe is amazing!!! I don’t often review, but this one deserves more than 5 stars, if that were possible! It’s pretty versatile. I followed the recipe when I made it last night, minus the lemongrass (which I didn’t have). I subbed lemon juice instead. I added garlic and extra curry paste. I used chicken instead of shrimp, and used coconut oil in addition to olive oil. I also use REAL chicken stock instead of storebought stuff, which really makes it super-healthy, especially in the cold weather! I served it over rice noodles. No matter how I vary it, it is so yummy every time I make it! Definitely a standard at our house now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
AHHHHH, my tummy is SO happy!!! Added very thinly sliced chicken instead of shrimp, regular white mushrooms (couldn't find shiitake), peas, carrots and then fresh spinach at the very end instead of cilantro. Oh, and chili oil to spice it up a little. Ridiculously delicious! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melissious

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
Absolutely delicious and easy to make. I added a bit more curry paste to taste and otherwise wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
This "The Best Thai Coconut Soup" was good. My husband and I frequent the three Thai restaurants in our neighborhood and love coconut soup. My husband thought this was as good as any of the soups we have had in the restaurants, but I disagree. Aside from that, there is such a variation in different brands of red curry paste, and unfortunately I had to buy the brand from the supermarket because the Asian market was closed. I think it is very important to have a good quality red curry paste to make Thai soup. I ended up using 4 tablespoons of supermarket red curry paste (instead of the 2 teaspoons called for in the recipe) and still didn't get the flavor I was after. Regardless of the red curry paste, and although this soup was good, I will not likely make it again. I am looking for a recipe that tastes like the one from my favorite Thai restaurant. Thank you Jessica for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. J.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
Had to add more paste. But I just get a generic brand so it may be more bland than some. Other than that: fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elray

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
I made this according to the recipe, but used chicken instead of shrimp due to an allergy and added dried kaffir lime leaves. I tasted it as I added the ingredients and it was the best after the first can of coconut milk. I ended up adding all three, which I now regret, but if I make it again I would just use one. This should help the fact that the soup was too broth-y; with three cans of coconut milk it needs more "stuff" in it--more mushrooms, baby corn, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
Absolutely Fabulous! I added 4 tsp of Thai Chili Garlic Sauce and used low sodium vegetable broth instead of chicken broth. No salt needed. Make sure to chop the lemon grass up very fine to achieve a lovely crispy-crunchy effect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 317) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

The Best Thai Peanut Sauce

See how to make a simple no-cook peanut sauce.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States