The Best Thai Coconut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Very very good. I added some more curry powder and soy sauce instead of salt. Added rice noodles (only a handful) for some body. Amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
I feel that there was way too much coconut milk and not enough spice. The soup overall was very thick and bland. I used chicken instead of shrimp, but the problems were with the "broth," which was too thick to really be called a broth, anyway. I may try it again with less coconut milk and a lot more seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plover, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
Absolutely LOVE this recipe. No complaints from anyone. I only changed a couple of things. One, I live in a small town so they don't sell lemon grass (or the paste) so I had to leave that out. I also added a teaspoon of cayenne pepper, because we love spicy foods! I also am not a fan of shrimp so I left the shrimp out but instead added a package of rice noodles. I boil the noodles first, then run them under cold water so they don't stick, then add them to the soup. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
I found this recipe to be on the right track for the flavors I was looking for...but those flavors were just not bold enough. I doubled the red curry paste, lime juice, and brown sugar. Extra fresh cilantro too. I really appreciated this recipe because it was very simple and it did get me very close to the Tom Kha Gai at my favorite Thai restaurants. I found dried lemongrass in a jar on the Asian aisle and that has worked very well when I can't find fresh. I have learned though, you cannot replace fresh cilantro and fresh lime juice...ever. Thank you so much for sharing this because e I crave this stuff all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Wow! This is one amazing recipe. I used raw chicken breast cut into smaller pieces instead of the shrimp - I added it at the same time as the shrimp was supposed to be put in, brought everything to a boil and let it simmer for about 6 minutes. I also cooked up some rice vermicelli separetly which I added to the soup right before serving. I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
I made the soup more like Tom Yum Gai soup and added onion, bok choy, chicken and, most importantly, tomatoes. For me tomatoes are the perfect balance to the curry and coconut. It was great and will become one of my favorite dishes in the winter. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
Tastes pretty authentic. Love the flavor. Try it out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Added a bit more curry paste as I wanted it to taste a bit less "coconutty" but that's just my preferance. This recipe is AMAZING!! Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sperkins

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
Good enough to satisfy my crazy craving. Added more curry paste and cayenne pepper because I like mine very spicy. Will be making it again. Comes very close to what they serve at my fave restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
Everyone loved this soup. Did add more curry paste, shredded chicken and cooked basmati rice, since didn't have any noodles. Also used two cans of coconut milk, three would have been too much. Fabulous flavors. Next time will add more veggies. Will make this again & again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 399) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States