The Best Sweet and Sour Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
This was sooo good. I did 3/4 cup brown sugar instead of a whole cup and it was still more sweet than necessary. I also added yellow/orange (or red bell) pepper to the sauce. The meat balls where so delicate they were hard to brown without breaking them up. I might add just a little more bread crumbs next time. I also cut out 1/2 cup water for a thicker sauce. Mmmmwha! Loved it served over rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
I had 2 lbs of ground beef, so i decided to double the recipe. I started off making EXACTLY as written..but was skeptical on the amount of sugar, thinking it would be too sweet. so i only added 3/4 for a doubled recipe. For my tastes it was still to sweet and not enough sour. so i proceeded to try to make it more of our liking..adding 1/4 cup of ketchup and a huge squeeze of Dijon mustard..for some zip. Popped it all into the slow cooker, (after browning the meatballs) neat the end i gave them a taste, and still seemed like something was missing to me..honestly they were too sweet still. i added a HUGE dash of red chili pepper flakes..and it cooked it some more. That gave it that underlying spice to even out the sweet. Overall its a great starter recipe..and it would be great for those who like really sweet foods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef V

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
I found this recipe a bit too sweet, I feel like half the sugar could have been used
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miranda Mutch

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
This was amazing. It didn't really have a sour flavour to it, but the sweetness from the brown sugar was all I needed! My family loved this recipe. I can't wait to make it again. I served it with steamed white rice and freshly chopped green onions on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Ir was good but I expected a more sweet and sour taste. It just tasted sweet. I will make it again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eraina Jones-Casey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
This was a winner! I made it exactly as the recipe said and it was delicious! Served with white rice and green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
The best I've found so far for sweet and sour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
I've made a recipe very similar to this and it's amazing!! Great for an appetizer for the Super Bowl or for a potluck
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan Morsie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly and it came out delicious! I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
I will admit I changed this to appease my taste. I don't necessarily care for a sweeter sauce. I prefer less sweet. However, that is MY taste. This dish is fantastic either way. If you like sweet than follow the recipe to a T. If you're like me than reduce the sugar by about half. My suggestion would be to simply taste the sauce in the mixing bowl before putting it in the pan. I also added ketchup to the sauce based on other reviewers & that was delicious. Alone this recipe is 5 stars & tweaked to your own personal tastes it is also 5 stars! Good, easy, yummy, solid recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 400) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Jewish Style Sweet and Sour Brisket

Make a Jewish-style brisket that’s sweet, sour, and delicious.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States