The Best Sweet and Sour Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
WAY too sweet. I tried redeeming it with more onion and some chopped celery, but I still felt like I was eating dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by victorian_soul

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
These got RAVE reviews at my party! My fiance says it's the best thing he has ever had. I subbed the water for pineapple juice which I think added a lot to the overall flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Briggitte

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
This recipe did not work for me. My meatballs turned out to be tough and the meat needs salt and pepper. The sauce did not help to flavor the bland meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
I just made these meatballs for my fiance, and he can't stop raving about them! He's glad he "put a ring on it!" ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snaredrum46

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
OK, so I'm giving this 5 stars, but that's with a lot of changes. I made them as appetizers for a shower, kept them small and put toothpicks in them for easy pick up from a baking pan. I made the recipe with 3# turkey meat (increasing all the other ingredients X3 of course) and made about 55 meatballs. I spent a lot of time reading MANY of the reviews and this is what I came up with. PEOPLE SAID: Add onion soup mix to meat--did that Bake instead of fry the meat--did that Cut sugar in 1/2--did that Cut soy sauce in 1/2--did that Use cornstarch instead of flour--did that Add pineapple to sauce--did that (1/2 can fruit) with all the juice added to the water Add red pepper to sauce--did that Add ketchup--Used General Tsao Sauce instead of ketchup. They turned out great. Made them a day ahead and put them in the oven to warm before serving. The only thing that I think I'll do different (even though people disagreed) is to add some General Tsao's right into the meat as well as to the sauce. I think it would add to the flavor. Hope this condensed version of comments will help keep you from spending a lot of time searching.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Avon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
SO SO SO good!!! I followed the recipe almost exactly. The only change I made was I used minced dry onions instead of chopping one. I usually don't do that but that's what I had and I didn't want to go to the store for an onion. I loved these so much! They are so easy, and so good! I laid them over white rice w/ broccoli on the side. They are also good leftover. I am making them again this weekend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
Just made these for dinner.. they were so easy to make and yummy! I did add 1/4 cup of ketchup to the sauce as recommended by another reviewer. Served over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whitby, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
I made these last year for a party and they were a huge hit! Everybody loved them! So I took the leftovers home to my husband (cuz he was not at the party with me) and he absolutely loved them! In the last year, I've made them so many times I cant count! I make them ihn my crockpot for about 4 hours or so, but other than that, DO NOT MAKE ANY CHNGES! Make them absolutely as written, and they are phenominal! They are now a normal staple on our grocery list and they get made almost weekly! Love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
These little puppies ROCK! Made *almost* as directed except only used about 1/4 cup onion and added 1T of s&s mixture to meat (which I baked so I could use the cool little meatball pan my son bought me). For sauce, only used 1/2 cup brown sugar, added 3T of ketcup, and rest as directed. It was absolutely perfect. Served over rice with green onions tossed on top and a napa style salad on the side. Will def make again. UPDATE: I don't know what I did differently this time with the meatballs, but they were terribly awfully bland (???) Next time be sure to add salt, pepper, garlic, maybe some ginger or hotsauce?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
These were definitely good, and I will make them again, but the meatballs need more seasonings and some salt wouldn't hurt, either. The sauce was good and was perfect over rice, but something was missing. Maybe adding a little ketchup next time might help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnsChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Georgia, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 397) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Jewish Style Sweet and Sour Brisket

Make a Jewish-style brisket that’s sweet, sour, and delicious.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States