The Best Sweet and Sour Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
After reading reviews I added 1/4 cup ketchup, more vinegar and used only 1/2 cup brown sugar. We really liked this but agreed that a full cup of brown sugar would have been waaaayyyy to much for us. Unless you like your sweet and sour meatballs really sweet I'd definitely not use a full cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Hard to make the meatballs stay in balls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
I would give this a 5 for ease of preparation and amount of ingredients, but only a 4 for the sauce. I will definitely make this again, but next time I will use the sauce from Waikiki Meatballs because I like it much better--seemed a bit better balance between sweet and sour, plus I love the pineapple and peppers. Will definitely use this recipe for the meatballs, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Wonderful! I used ground turkey rather than beef, and turkey has less flavor than beef so I used dehydrated onion, added a tsp of salt and pepper, and fresh grated ginger, then I was lazy and just baked them on a cookie sheet at 375 for 25 minutes. The were DELICIOUS even without the sauce. for the sauce, I only had apple cider vinegar, so I used that, and then I added more fresh grated ginger and a tbs of that rooster chile sauce for some spice. It was sooo incredibly good. We will be making these a staple in our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHELSEAK3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holladay, Utah, USA
Living In: Riverton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
I liked the sauce. My children did not. I loved this tho
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Conroe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Im giving this a 4 based on the changes I made. Used 3/4 C brown sugar, next time would use 1/2C, doubled the vinegar, and added 1/4 C ketchup. Also substituted cornstarch for the flour- had I not made these changes it would have been entirely too sweet for our tastes. Served over rice and garnished with green onions and an additional dash of soy. With these changes I will make again for an easy weeknight meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSPARKERII

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dunedin, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
i made these with turkey and they were awesome! Of course they were a lot more fragile and hard to handle while cooking because of how low turkey is in fat. So what i did was just put a couple tablespoons of oil on the skillet to help them stick together. i diced up onion, but next time i might try using dried onion flakes, i think it would make it even easier! thanks for the awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
I thought this was very good. Due to a review mentioning they were a bit sweet, I doubled the vinegar. I was glad I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patrick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
First time i ever made meatballs, they turned out awesome. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
I took some tips from Dianne and only used 1/2 cup brown sugar and added in some ketchup. I put these into my slow cooker and poured the sauce over. I cooked it on high for 1 hour and then on low for about 8 more hours. The meatballs were so tender and moist and full of the flavor from the sauce. So tasty - everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 400) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Jewish Style Sweet and Sour Brisket

Make a Jewish-style brisket that’s sweet, sour, and delicious.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States