The Best Sweet and Sour Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
This recipe is good, but only with a LOT of tweaks. There is way too much brown sugar; it needs to be halved at least. Otherwise you need to increase the vinegar and soy sauce. Also, ketchup is a must--a good amount of it. While it would be easy to keep this recipe if you remember the additions, it would be easier to use a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
Having never made meatballs before this looked like a good recipe to start with! Very easy & didn't require a whole lot of ingredients. They were a little more on the sweet side then I thought they'd be, but my husband (who is an actual chef) LOVED them! Will definitely be making these again! Thanks! **Update** Made these a second time when a friend came over for dinner... his reaction "These are WAY better than even what my Grandmother makes". Can't go wrong there!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
These are easy to make and pretty good, but too sweet for my taste. I even cut the sugar almost in half, although I added 1/4 c. ketchup. Also there was too much onion even though I used a very small onion. I baked the meatballs at 350 for about 25 minutes and simmered them in the sauce for only about 10 minutes. I will make these again but with less sugar and onion, and I think they'd be good with some spice to them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalie
Home Town: Canal Fulton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Amazing recipe - Thanks! I added pineapple chunks when I made this recipe (juice drained).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
A very good recipe. I seasoned my meatballs more to my taste, though. This recipe called for no salt or other seasonings for the meatballs! I did double the sauce ( we like a lot) but I only did 1 and half cups of brown sugar (not the full 2 cups) and it was plenty sweet. A very good recipe. I also added a little ketchup and used cornstarch instead of flour to thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fourpiesmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
considering i burned most of them severely the ones that werent burnt were delicious. my husband loved them even my kids and they are picky eaters..i definitely suggest keeping your eye on these DONT LEAVE THEM FOR ANYTHING...in the matter of seconds the sauce thickens and then it will burn
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvs2cook24

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
I just got done eating them and I don't really care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OolyndeoO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houma, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
This was great my family really enjoyed it and I mad enough to freeze so that when I travel my wife could heat and serve. Had it over egg noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
I used this recipe for the sauce and made the meatballs with my own seasonings. I also baked them instead of frying them. The sauce was pretty good! I added 1/4 cup of ketchup like others had suggested. We ate the meatballs with rice and I ate the leftovers on a sub roll with cheese the next day. Tasty both ways and fairly easy to make. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
I used the meatball recipe from Cajun Appetizer Meatballs (though omitted the hot sauce and Cajun Seasoning) and baked the meatballs in the oven. For the sauce, I used one cup of pineapple juice in place of some of the water and reduced the brown sugar to 3/4 cup. I boiled the sauce, poured it over the baked meatballs and put it all in the oven for about twenty minutes. I was overall pleased with the results though it did seem that a little something was missed from the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 408) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

The Best Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs with ground beef, veal, and pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States