The Best Sweet and Sour Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
Yumm Yumm! I added a squirt of ketchup and Dijon mustard to the sauce. I also baked my meatballs instead of frying. I served over brown rice. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
My family liked these "OK,", but we found them to not have as much flavor as we hoped. We'll stick with our BBQ Saurkraut Crockpot meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MyLauraLee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
I used meatballs I had made and cooked ahead of time and then froze (much cheaper and healthier than store bought frozen meatballs). Heated them up in the oven at 350 for about 10 minutes and followed the rest of the instructions, with the addition of about 1/4 cup of ketchup, as suggested by another reviewer. Served it with brown rice and a vegetable. My entire family LOVED this, especially the sauce. My husband is never really excited about anything I make, but he went on and on about how good this was. It will definitely be a regular in my rotation. Making the meatballs ahead of time and freezing them makes this a pretty quick/easy meal too, which is always a plus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
Absolutely delicious and so easy to make! I added 1/4 cup of ketchup and also a dash of red pepper flakes, but I would add a little more red pepper flakes next time. I had mine over rice with a side of stir fried veggies, my husband had his in a sub roll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Very good and very easy to make....I made them with ground turkey...they were wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HappyKathy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chelmsford, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
Awesome!sauce was excellent..we even ate it on some stir fried veggies!...did need to add extra dash of soya sauce to darken it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Glasgow, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
These were a hit at my last party. Can't eat too many of them at once because of their sweet flavor, but definitely didn't last very long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
My husband rates these meatballs 4 stars. He likes than, but I felt they were too sweet. I followed the recipe exactly, but used dehydrated onion instead of fresh. I also made the meatballs smaller. The sauce is nice and thick and coats the meatballs well. I think if I added something more to the sauce it could be even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
This recipe is good, but only with a LOT of tweaks. There is way too much brown sugar; it needs to be halved at least. Otherwise you need to increase the vinegar and soy sauce. Also, ketchup is a must--a good amount of it. While it would be easy to keep this recipe if you remember the additions, it would be easier to use a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
Having never made meatballs before this looked like a good recipe to start with! Very easy & didn't require a whole lot of ingredients. They were a little more on the sweet side then I thought they'd be, but my husband (who is an actual chef) LOVED them! Will definitely be making these again! Thanks! **Update** Made these a second time when a friend came over for dinner... his reaction "These are WAY better than even what my Grandmother makes". Can't go wrong there!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 406) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

The Best Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs with ground beef, veal, and pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States