The Best Sweet and Sour Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
Awesome!sauce was excellent..we even ate it on some stir fried veggies!...did need to add extra dash of soya sauce to darken it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Glasgow, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
These were a hit at my last party. Can't eat too many of them at once because of their sweet flavor, but definitely didn't last very long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
My husband rates these meatballs 4 stars. He likes than, but I felt they were too sweet. I followed the recipe exactly, but used dehydrated onion instead of fresh. I also made the meatballs smaller. The sauce is nice and thick and coats the meatballs well. I think if I added something more to the sauce it could be even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
This recipe is good, but only with a LOT of tweaks. There is way too much brown sugar; it needs to be halved at least. Otherwise you need to increase the vinegar and soy sauce. Also, ketchup is a must--a good amount of it. While it would be easy to keep this recipe if you remember the additions, it would be easier to use a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
Having never made meatballs before this looked like a good recipe to start with! Very easy & didn't require a whole lot of ingredients. They were a little more on the sweet side then I thought they'd be, but my husband (who is an actual chef) LOVED them! Will definitely be making these again! Thanks! **Update** Made these a second time when a friend came over for dinner... his reaction "These are WAY better than even what my Grandmother makes". Can't go wrong there!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
These are easy to make and pretty good, but too sweet for my taste. I even cut the sugar almost in half, although I added 1/4 c. ketchup. Also there was too much onion even though I used a very small onion. I baked the meatballs at 350 for about 25 minutes and simmered them in the sauce for only about 10 minutes. I will make these again but with less sugar and onion, and I think they'd be good with some spice to them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalie
Home Town: Canal Fulton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Amazing recipe - Thanks! I added pineapple chunks when I made this recipe (juice drained).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
A very good recipe. I seasoned my meatballs more to my taste, though. This recipe called for no salt or other seasonings for the meatballs! I did double the sauce ( we like a lot) but I only did 1 and half cups of brown sugar (not the full 2 cups) and it was plenty sweet. A very good recipe. I also added a little ketchup and used cornstarch instead of flour to thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fourpiesmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
considering i burned most of them severely the ones that werent burnt were delicious. my husband loved them even my kids and they are picky eaters..i definitely suggest keeping your eye on these DONT LEAVE THEM FOR ANYTHING...in the matter of seconds the sauce thickens and then it will burn
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvs2cook24

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
I just got done eating them and I don't really care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OolyndeoO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houma, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 401) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

The Best Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs with ground beef, veal, and pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States