The Best Sweet and Sour Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I bought extra lean ground beef fresh from the butcher's. I made the meatballs as directed but substituted a third of a package of onion soup mix for the onion. I baked the meatballs for 15 minutes at 350 instead of frying them. I think the meatballs would have been juicier if I had used regular ground beef. It's cheaper and probably would have been less dry. The sauce is the star of this recipe. The only thing I changed was that I added 1/8 of a cup of ketchup. Hubby loved it and I've been told to keep this recipe. He's very picky. I'm glad I found this recipe. This will be my only S&S sauce recipe from now on. Thanks KIMMY D.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
10+ for a lot of us....why havent I found this one sooner! Delicious and so easy. I made my meatballs the night before and stored in the fridge. I also doubled the recipe! Next day I put the cold meatballs in my crockpot. Made the sauce which I doubled everything EXCEPT the brown sugar! I used 1c. total ....I also added 1/4c. of ketchup. Dont skimp the process of making the sauce on the stove and letting it come to a boil. This thickens and turns this sauce into a wonderful thick and glossy glaze. After a full boil, I added my sauce to the crockpot and meatballs. Turned on low for a few hours. Let me tell you how very tender these were and how flavorful the glaze was. All the meatballs were gone by the end of the night...everyone loved them. One other tip....I baked my meatballs...did not fry. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Kids loved it, made with frozen meatballs (not italian) pineapple juice instead of water, and pineapple chunks. I served it on rice. I think it would be even better with chopped onions and green peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
This was really greasy. Did anybody catch the fact that you don't drain the fat off the meat because it just sits in the sauce to cook? I'm sure it would have been better if I'd baked the meatballs first (as per the other reviews). Not worth the calories as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
these were very good. i had trouble with the sauce being too watery and separated in my crock pot so i poured the mixture onto the stove for a hot second and boiled it, that did the trick. it thickened right up and had a perfect shine (i followed someone else's sugg to use cornstarch instead for the beautiful glossy sause)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
After reading reviews I added 1/4 cup ketchup, more vinegar and used only 1/2 cup brown sugar. We really liked this but agreed that a full cup of brown sugar would have been waaaayyyy to much for us. Unless you like your sweet and sour meatballs really sweet I'd definitely not use a full cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Hard to make the meatballs stay in balls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
I would give this a 5 for ease of preparation and amount of ingredients, but only a 4 for the sauce. I will definitely make this again, but next time I will use the sauce from Waikiki Meatballs because I like it much better--seemed a bit better balance between sweet and sour, plus I love the pineapple and peppers. Will definitely use this recipe for the meatballs, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Wonderful! I used ground turkey rather than beef, and turkey has less flavor than beef so I used dehydrated onion, added a tsp of salt and pepper, and fresh grated ginger, then I was lazy and just baked them on a cookie sheet at 375 for 25 minutes. The were DELICIOUS even without the sauce. for the sauce, I only had apple cider vinegar, so I used that, and then I added more fresh grated ginger and a tbs of that rooster chile sauce for some spice. It was sooo incredibly good. We will be making these a staple in our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHELSEAK3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holladay, Utah, USA
Living In: Riverton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
I liked the sauce. My children did not. I loved this tho
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Conroe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 385) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

The Best Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs with ground beef, veal, and pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States