The Best Sweet and Sour Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
The meat balls where really good (I substituted ground beef for ground turkey and put some garlic powder in the). As for the sauce, it was yummy but a little on the sweet side so next time less brown sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashadybarlink

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
delicious! even my picky 2 year old loved these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meghan Jean Anderson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Nebraska City, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
I used pre- made turkey meatballs and followed the sauce recipe as follows withthe addition of 2 tbsp. of ketchup. I also added chopped red/orange bell pepper, chopped onion and one rib of choped celery. I threw everything in a pot and let everything cook together for about thirty minutes. Served it over brown rice with a side salad. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
These were really good! The sweet and sour sauce was fantastic! Made exactly as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2011
Really, really good....a tad too sweet for our taste but that's easily changed. An easy ecipe...certainly will be making these again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
These were great. The only change I had was to half the sugar, a tablespoon of Asian hot sauce, and add a couple of squirts of ketchup. Next time I'd add a second egg so they hold up better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
On short notice and in need of a yummy snackie type appetizer and using what I had in the cabinets...this was it...though I used frozen meatballs, only 2 tbsp of soy sauce and next time I think I will use corn starch because flour turned lumpy... simply delicious! Had few left overs...even better the next day, we ate them cold on rolls...like baby meatloaf sandwiches...delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
ok, looking for better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
extremely simple and all in all not bad. the "gravy" was a lil too vinegary to me... however, everybody else loved them! thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Souza'sGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Folsom, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
These were really good, with a couple modifications based on recommendations from other reviewers. I'm only giving the recipe four stars because, as-written, the meatballs would be bland and the sauce would be far too sweet. I doubled the sauce (won't do that next time...made WAY too much), but only used 1-1/2 cups of brown sugar. Even then it was a tiny bit too sweet for me, but my fiance and daughter loved it. I also used corn starch instead of flour to thicken the sauce, which gave it a beautiful clear, shiny appearance instead of making it cloudy like gravy. I used ground turkey instead of beef because I always sub turkey instead of beef in ground meat recipes. I only had Italian bread crumbs on hand, but I think the seasoning in them just made things better. I did add a little salt and pepper to the meatball mixture as well. I served these over brown jasmine rice that had been cooked in chicken broth along with sesame soy ginger broccoli. My fiance, who moved in with me a few months ago and truly enjoys my cooking, said this was the best meal I've served him yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antelope Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 412) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

The Best Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs with ground beef, veal, and pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States