The Best Sweet and Sour Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: May 26, 2011
Really, really good....a tad too sweet for our taste but that's easily changed. An easy ecipe...certainly will be making these again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
These were great. The only change I had was to half the sugar, a tablespoon of Asian hot sauce, and add a couple of squirts of ketchup. Next time I'd add a second egg so they hold up better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
On short notice and in need of a yummy snackie type appetizer and using what I had in the cabinets...this was it...though I used frozen meatballs, only 2 tbsp of soy sauce and next time I think I will use corn starch because flour turned lumpy... simply delicious! Had few left overs...even better the next day, we ate them cold on rolls...like baby meatloaf sandwiches...delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
ok, looking for better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
extremely simple and all in all not bad. the "gravy" was a lil too vinegary to me... however, everybody else loved them! thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Souza'sGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Folsom, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
These were really good, with a couple modifications based on recommendations from other reviewers. I'm only giving the recipe four stars because, as-written, the meatballs would be bland and the sauce would be far too sweet. I doubled the sauce (won't do that next time...made WAY too much), but only used 1-1/2 cups of brown sugar. Even then it was a tiny bit too sweet for me, but my fiance and daughter loved it. I also used corn starch instead of flour to thicken the sauce, which gave it a beautiful clear, shiny appearance instead of making it cloudy like gravy. I used ground turkey instead of beef because I always sub turkey instead of beef in ground meat recipes. I only had Italian bread crumbs on hand, but I think the seasoning in them just made things better. I did add a little salt and pepper to the meatball mixture as well. I served these over brown jasmine rice that had been cooked in chicken broth along with sesame soy ginger broccoli. My fiance, who moved in with me a few months ago and truly enjoys my cooking, said this was the best meal I've served him yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antelope Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Made this recipe for our daughters bridal shower. It went over very well. Only made the sauce as I have my own meatball recipe. The sauce was sort of plain when made as described but I added about 2 cups of fresh chopped pineapple. That added the needed flavor and sweetness. I made this recipe times 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
family really liked. Used 1/2 onion which was more than enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
Love the sauce! I made my own recipe for the meatballs and simmered them in the sauce just as written. WONDERFUL! I have made other sweet and sour sauce recipes from this site before and was not happy with them. They were always too sweet for my taste but this one is spot on. Thanks for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
these were so good~!! the sauce was easy, and i followed the adjustments listed in the other reviews. the added crushed pineapple and red peppers made this VERY good and healthy! think the sauce would be good with pork or chicken or a basting sauce for shrimp on the grill!!! can't wait to experiment more and see what works! thatnks for a get base recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Osterburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 408) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

The Best Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs with ground beef, veal, and pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States