The Best Steamed Asparagus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
LOVE this recipe! I had no idea I could steam my asparagus in the microwave - I will never make it any other way. I should mention that I use water in place of the wine and sprinkle with a bit of sea salt before cooking - the end result is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
I loved this dish although I did it a second time and added 1/4 cup chicken broth (canned) with Chardonnay and the butter. It was a little less wine tasting. Very good. It will be my regular from now on. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dottie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
Instead of microwaving them I am Sauteing them in the wine and butter and a little pepper...it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
I took advice from others and added garlic, salt, and pepper... as well as the Pinot Grigio and butter. I also garnished with dill. The resulting dish was very tasty. Since there is considerable variation in member's comments, I might add that perhaps the quality of ingredients could be an issue. For example, if you start with a cheap wine, don't expect stellar results. If you add garlic salt, rather than garlic and salt, don't expect a miracle. The same applies to the freshness of all ingredients, from asparagus (which can be like wood) to pepper. If you are not using a pepper mill, then you are not using pepper. Think sawdust. Fortunately, salt is a rock. Even then, sea salt tastes very different from rock salt. Just some food for thought. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
Great recipe for steamed asparagus and helped me get rid of some left over white wine. I substituted butter for smart balance and only used a tablespoon or less. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
Extremely tasty, extremely easy, extremely quick. Substituted White Zinfandel for the Pinot Grigio and it was still SO good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
I agree that the wine flavor was pretty strong and it could have used some garlic or dill. I would try this again since the method is so easy when you have other complicated dishes to prepare but use half wine/half chicken broth as suggested by another reviewer and add an herb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missdrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Great method. If the wine is too over-powering, use chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIMBILL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
All recipes need altering to some degree; cooking time could be stated as 3 min plus time for your tenderness degree. The wine did over power; I give credit to another person suggesting 50% wine to 50 % water. Less liquid with sprigs laying flat in the bowl may result in less wine taste. I had mine lumped due to the vessel I used. I may try it again to stay on top of why it was suggested. Lets never give up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dcookin
Living In: Oxford, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Thought I would really like this but it tasted too much like wine and no one in my family liked it either
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Asparagus with Ham and Lemon

Make a quick and easy fresh asparagus side dish.

Asparagus Soufflé

See how easy it is to whip up a light, fluffy soufflé.

Pan-Fried Asparagus

A simple asparagus side dish with garlic, olive oil, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States