The Best Steamed Asparagus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
Heaven. Looking for easy, pretty healthy this does it. I used Chardonnay and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
Just a little bit less wine and would be great...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
This was really good. I did a quick test run with just a little asparagus and diluted the wine with water. No need. Just don't skimp on the butter and it will be fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
LOVE this recipe! I had no idea I could steam my asparagus in the microwave - I will never make it any other way. I should mention that I use water in place of the wine and sprinkle with a bit of sea salt before cooking - the end result is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
I loved this dish although I did it a second time and added 1/4 cup chicken broth (canned) with Chardonnay and the butter. It was a little less wine tasting. Very good. It will be my regular from now on. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dorothy McGuinness

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
Instead of microwaving them I am Sauteing them in the wine and butter and a little pepper...it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
I took advice from others and added garlic, salt, and pepper... as well as the Pinot Grigio and butter. I also garnished with dill. The resulting dish was very tasty. Since there is considerable variation in member's comments, I might add that perhaps the quality of ingredients could be an issue. For example, if you start with a cheap wine, don't expect stellar results. If you add garlic salt, rather than garlic and salt, don't expect a miracle. The same applies to the freshness of all ingredients, from asparagus (which can be like wood) to pepper. If you are not using a pepper mill, then you are not using pepper. Think sawdust. Fortunately, salt is a rock. Even then, sea salt tastes very different from rock salt. Just some food for thought. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
Great recipe for steamed asparagus and helped me get rid of some left over white wine. I substituted butter for smart balance and only used a tablespoon or less. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
Extremely tasty, extremely easy, extremely quick. Substituted White Zinfandel for the Pinot Grigio and it was still SO good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
I agree that the wine flavor was pretty strong and it could have used some garlic or dill. I would try this again since the method is so easy when you have other complicated dishes to prepare but use half wine/half chicken broth as suggested by another reviewer and add an herb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missdrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Asparagus with Ham and Lemon

Make a quick and easy fresh asparagus side dish.

Asparagus Soufflé

See how easy it is to whip up a light, fluffy soufflé.

Pan-Fried Asparagus

A simple asparagus side dish with garlic, olive oil, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States