The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
The first time I made them by the exact recipe. I will give 3 stars for the consistency and because many of us had to tweak the recipe for some simple ingredient measurements that cause big production problems.. Much too wet. Had to keep adding flour and knead it into the dough as well as frequently dusting the rolling pin. It stuck to the rolling pin as well as my cutting board. They were difficult to scrape off the surface to transfer to the cookie sheet. They tasted pretty good, but not very sweet. The second time around I followed the advice to up the sugar (I only added half cup), and I added another half cup of flour as well. The dough feels firmer & less sticky. Waiting for them to chill overnight......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristina Reinhold-Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
I tried this recipe for the first time today. I chilled the dough for 3 hours, but as others have remarked, the dough is extremely sticky. I kept having to add more flour when rolling out the cookies in order to cut them. This recipe would probably be ok for drop cookies, but it's really not practical for any cut out cookies. After baking, the cookies did taste pretty decent, but they are not very sweet. Another 1/4-1/2 cup of sugar would probably help give them more of a classic sugar-cookie flavor. Also, the recipe says to bake the cookies for 8 minutes. I would recommend less time. My first batch came out practically burnt on the bottoms. 6 minutes was just about right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yolanda Hanavan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
Easy to prepare and simply delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIAGULIA3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
I just made this recipe and I am not impressed. I am wondering where I went wrong because the taste is not that great and they stuck to the baking sheet. I tried taking them off the sheet right after taking them out of the oven and they were sticking and tearing, so I waited until they cooled a little and the same thing happened. The dough was not that hard to work with but the taste and appearance of the end product is really disappointing after reading all the race reviews. Any advice?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
Terrific. Best sugar cookie recipe I've made!! And I'm old!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
I chilled the dough for 24 hours, but I was unsuccessful using cookie cutters with this dough as it was just too soft. I tried them for Christmas and it is 65 degrees today so might have something to do with it. I managed to get about 6 stars onto the baking sheet before I decided to roll the dough into cylinders and slice and bake. Not what I hoped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
I am giving this recipe a 5 STAR since it was so easy to make and tasty too! It made the best sugar cookies I have ever baked.I did substitute almond extract for vanilla but that was the only thing I tweaked. The directions are simple to follow too.Although the dough can be sticky when rolling simply place the roll of dough between 2 sheets of wax paper when using a rolling pin. My family went on and on about how yummy these cookies came out. GOOD CUT OUT COOKIE MIX RECIPES ARE HARD TO FIND! LOOK NO FURTHER- YOU HAVE FOUND IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whachagotcooking

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
My granddaughters and I made this recipe yesterday and it was great! Turned out delicious and we had tons of fun rolling and cutting the cookies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda McDonald

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
I have been using this recipe for the last 3 years. It always has been coming out perfectly. for those who wrote the negative comments, I know it ends up sticky but its normal. At the end it will be perfect and you will never regret being patient with this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arthur Napolitano

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
By far the worst sugar cookie recipe I've tried off this website. After chilling for 6 hours, the dough is the consistency of frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 6,545) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Karen's Tips for Easy Rolled Sugar Cookies

Get tips for making classic cut-out cookies.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States