The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
Super yummy! My kids, their friends, and their teachers loved it! Very easy to make and is great for cut outs and decorating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
I thought they came out LOVELY! I dont understand the people whining about the dough being sticky. Are you sure you added enough flour? Did you let it chill in the refrigerator for at least an hour? Some people had to do something wrong. I am not much of a baker or cook and it was SIMPLE to me, and came up tasting almost EXACTLY like a specialty sugar cookie sold by one of my FAVORITE hometown places to visit! The Eat N Park smiley cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lea Brown

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
great recipe. added a little more vanilla and sugar like previous posts have suggested and they are great. Roll out and cut perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tia Luchon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
At first, I was on the side of the one-star reviews. However, kneading an extra cup of flour into the dough and using lots of flour on the table made it a good workable consistency and I ended up with cookies I really like the taste and texture of. So: 1. If you are the kind of person who thoroughly fluffs and spoons your flour, you are probably going to need an extra cup or even cup and a half of it. 2. This is a very mild cookie. I added extra vanilla (2t instead of 1), and really like the flavor. A little orange or almond could be nice too. 3. This is not a very sweet cookie - think graham/animal cracker. (If you like a sweeter cookie, you'll definitely want to use one of the modifications adding powdered sugar in the comments.) I thought it was perfect with a classic icing. 4. This is a fluffy, slightly cake-like cookie. I really liked the texture this created, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanna Kaniewski

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
They turned-out well, however for the less experienced baker (me) could have benefited from more recipe notes. I looked at the minority of negative reviews and thought they must have done something horribly wrong. How could 6,000 people be wrong?! However when I was finished mixing my dough, it was more like a batter. It was sticky and soft - I couldn't imagine how it could roll-out. After it chilled for a few hours it was firm and ready to roll, however it warmed quickly and became sticky. I assume this is the butter melting at room temperature or as it's worked. My solution was to work with small batches, leaving the remainder in the fridge. Flour surfaces, and work quickly! After the cookies were baked they were the lightest, airiest sugar cookies I've ever made - and I always chose to make them for Christmas when I was young. I just noticed the healthier version... I might try those next (when I make them in another 10 years!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faye Ackland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
Simply the best sugar cookie, especially when iced with Sugar Cookie Icing by JBS Box (found on allrecipes.com -natch!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
I had issues. A lot of them puffed up and didn't hold their shape but some did keep their shape so now I have no real idea how I would tweak the recipe to work better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trish Block

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
I doubled the recipe with the included additions of sugar and vanilla. (I like to bake a lot at one time and freeze some for later). I added lemon zest and cardamom with a touch of almond extract. I chilled them overnight and rolled them out between parchment paper without using extra flour...they are SO tasty and kept their shape quite well. This will be my goto recipe from here on out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
My favorite sugar cookies. The only kind I will make now
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 41-50 (of 6,628) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Karen's Tips for Easy Rolled Sugar Cookies

Get tips for making classic cut-out cookies.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States