The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
These are great!!! Made with my kids on Christmas Eve for Santa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Debbie
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
Very good recipe for me. I have Tremors and I can't do many thing like decorate cakes or cookies. So I just rolled them into a ball, then into sugar colored. Then bake. I let them bake at 400/8minutes. Such a easy recipe. Thanks for sharing it. Debbie Penner- Yrigollen
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
This is not an ideal dough for rolling in my experience. It was difficult to work with (very, very sticky even when using parchment papers, extra flour, etc. ) and makes a rather mildly sweet cookie. The upside of this dough-my reason for giving it 4 stars instead of 3--is that it does not spread. My intricate cookie shapes stayed their actual shape instead of spreading like a blob. The mild flavor will also be a nice backdrop to a sweet buttercream frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
There's no other way to say it. If your dough isn't right, you're doing it wrong. I didn't change anything at all about this recipe and it came out great. I'm taking a half batch with me to work (I didn't have time to roll out and cut the whole batch...this makes a loooot of dough!) today to share. The dough is a bit wet when you begin working with it, but it's OK because as you are rolling and adding all that extra flour, the dough doesn't turn into a brick. I even tried doing some letterpressed cookies with it and even they turned out great!! I was surprised how the details in the letterpressed cookies were pretty intact through baking. I didn't have time to decorate these either, and I am looking forward to having the time to actually decorate some of these beautiful and wonderfully tasty cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
Defiantly needed more sugar, I prefer my sugar cookies to be sweet but other than that not too bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Rose

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
Tried this receipe and loved it the first time. Cutting out the cookies were a breeze. I usually struggle with the dough sticking. Will use this receipe over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
Listened to others and adjusted the flour and sugar. Also let the dough rest over night and worked in batches and rolled out using half flour and half powdered sugar. These are the best sugar cookies ever. The dough was very easy to work with. I rolled the cookies out on parchment as others suggested but found it very easy to lift and transfer each cookie to a parchment lined cookie sheet. I refrigerated each sheet until firm before baking at 350 for 8 minutes. I immediately slid the parchment sheet eith the cookies onto cookie racks to cool. These are so good you will love these even without icing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
Good for shapes.... Tasted terrible...completely flavorless. Awful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
This is the best sugar cookie recipe I've tried so far! The dough was more workable than the other ones I tried. I refrigerated it overnight, and it actually made a lot more cookies than it said it would!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
I love these sugar cookies and have been making them for years. I thought it was about time to rate them. Make sure you chill the dough. Sometimes I make the dough a couple of days ahead of time, especially for Santa's cookies. I have used this recipe to insert dowels and make wands before and they turned out perfectly. They are soft and not too sweet, and perfect for buttercream frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 6,504) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Karen's Tips for Easy Rolled Sugar Cookies

Get tips for making classic cut-out cookies.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States