The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
The taste of these are delicious! I followed other reviewers suggestions and increased the sugar to 3 cups and the vanilla to 1 Tbsp. and the taste was perfect. The problem I have with these cookies is that they are next to impossible to roll out...and I let them chill overnight! The dough was super sticky and you had to work extremely quickly. My Husband and I were making them together and it was very frustrating for us to roll these out. Does anyone know a way to make the dough less sticky? I think more flour would probably just toughen up the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheHomemade

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Photo by lovestobake_25
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
I've tried this recipe 3 times now & have loved it every time! It's so simple & easy! What I do also is after the cookies have cooled completely, I decoradte them with vanilla icing & colored sugar (this week it was red & green for Christmas!). They are so delicious! Will be making more soon!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by szbrooks
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
I've been making this recipe for years. It's been printed out, hand written that it was the ONLY recipe to use for rolled out Christmas cookies. The review stating that it was too sticky has no merit in my mind. You have to chill the dough, and every cookie dough needs a little flour on the pin and the board before you roll it out. It rolls out very nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by szbrooks

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
Pretty cookies but I liked Grandma Reis' better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
Great recipe, not crumbly, dough held together nicely! Mine turned out nice and fluffy...I rolled into logs and sliced.!! I gave the recipe to my mom in-law and she loved it too!! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annandale, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
I did not care for this recipe. Hopeless sticky dough unless you add a ton of extra flour, then you get tough cookies. I refrigerated the dough overnight, rolled it between parchment paper, refrigerated it again, then used greased cookie cutters--the dough still stuck to them like glue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
Great recipe! Chilled the dough overnight. Rolled out with ease the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
I love this recipe I'm deffinetly using it again??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
We make this same recipe every year, and I love it. The only problem I ran into was "operator error" and I was rolling the dough out too thin. It was making them hard to pick up off the table after cutting them out. I started rolling it out thicker, and not only were they really easy to handle, but they cooked better and had a better flavor. It's a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
Great recipe, I had been looking for a sugar cookie recipe that was just like my mom's and now I found it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 6,544) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Karen's Tips for Easy Rolled Sugar Cookies

Get tips for making classic cut-out cookies.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States