The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Great taste! Horrible to roll out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Very good recipe. I used some tips from other reviews, such as rolling the dough, using sugar instead of flour. The cookies turned out soft and fluffy. Others I tried just wouldn't rise at all, no matter how thick I rolled the dough. I have a large family, and found that before they could frost them all, my children ate a few. To me that means very good. My kids normally won't even try cookies without frosting, let alone continue eating them. So, overall, well done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
I love these cookies!! This recipe tastes exactly like the ones my great aunt used to make. I've asked her for her recipe but she's never been willing to give it up. Now I have my own!! I also refrigerate my dough before rolling it out. These bake up soft and stay that way, a nice cake-like consistency. Yum!! Thanks so much for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Zinck

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
I had to try this one, it was amazing... I did add an extra cup of sugar and an extra teaspoon of vanilla like suggested by several raters, it turn out perfect. My daughter and I had fun decorating the cookies! Perfect cookie cutter recipe. I will make them again this holiday season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
Yum! These sugar cookies remind me of the ones you can buy at the grocery store, only better. When rolled out to a thicker cookie and removed from oven before getting brown, they have the same consistency as the ones in the store, love it! As other reviewers, I cut down on the vanilla. I used another suggestion and rolled them out on powdered sugar instead of flour. I also used rice flour for a 1/3 of this recipe and I loved the texture! One other reviewer said they were to bland when all was said and done. I believe if you roll it out on powdered sugar, they are perfect. Adding some icing will be sweeter and have the kids sing the praises of this cookie...like I said Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANDIKAYCOOKS

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
Honestly, there was nothing sugary about these sugar cookies. They were quite bland and I followed the recipe to the T! I will not be using this recipe again, and there are far tastier sugar cookie recipies available on this website. They taste like a regular italian cookie with little flavour. And thus, I shall not waste them but have them with my coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
These turn out great every time. The dough is sticky so use lots of flour for rolling them out. Otherwise, they are delicious, soft and fluffy! They are not puffing - I really am asked for the recipe every time I give these to someone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
It is amazing, the cookie just melt in your mouth, not too sweet to accommodate frosting, and for those whom it didn't work ill share my personal experience, different types and flour origin will greatly affect the quality of your dough, I had to adjust so many recipes moving from one country to another, so bear that in mind, another thing I have seen few comments about the dough getting too hard to roll, just an our in the fridge works the best, if have to leave it over night, just get out of the fridge leaving it at room temperature for 10-15 minutes and just massage the dough before you start rolling ..... Happy baking :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
This was my first attempt at sugar cookies and based on the reviews I figured it was a dream recipe. I even scoured the reviews and added the extra cup of sugar and extra teaspoon of vanilla that had been suggested by many of the reviews. My personal result was a sticky mess. I could not cut out any shapes and the dough was totally unmanageable. I would def not recommend this tecipe unfortunately I ended up rolling in balls and making circles. The taste is pretty good but was disappointed since I had bought cookie cutters and decorations. Would personally try a different recipe in the future
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
I've made this recipe for over 10 years for the annual Christmas decorating cookie party. It's amazing! I've learned to make the dough the night before. I leave it in the bowl for about an hour, then round it out into 4-5 circles in wax paper and put it back in the fridge overnight to bake the next morning. Simply wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 6,429) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Karen's Tips for Easy Rolled Sugar Cookies

Get tips for making classic cut-out cookies.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States