The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
The cookies are perfect! I needed a new recipe because the one I had tasted terrible. These were easy to make and tasted delicious! Everyone in my family loved them! The directions were simple enough for my seven year old nephew to make them almost all by himself. Overall It was a huge success!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
I made these cookies for my grandchildren and i must say that they thoroughly enjoyed them!My youngest grandson,Thomas said that these were swagalicious!I will most certainly be making these again in the future.The only thing i would like to suggest is that instead of doing the water and confectioners sugar for the icing either make a light butter cream or royal icing.As my grand-daughter Josie would say i slayed these cookies.(she was very appreciative of me cutting it up!)#cookie#master#grandma
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
I wanted to make lemon tarts for a dinner i am planning to host. To avoid surprises i decided to do a test run, using this cookie dough as the tart shells. I made the dough as instructed (substituted maple syrup for vanilla because i didnt have that & refrigerating for an hour) for about 15 cookies. From that only about a third of the mixture was needed to make 6 mini tart shells. The shells turned out amazing!! Just the right amount of softness on the inside and crisp on the out side. Definitely adding this to the recipe box. I was a little turned off by the negative review about the dough being sticky. Was a little doubtful cause im no pastry chef, but the dough wasnt sticky AT ALL. Greasy yes, sticky no!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maham Khan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
The dough was very very sticky to roll - even after chilling overnight. When I baked my cookies they spread into blobs that barely resembled the original shape. I did taste them and the flavor was okay (they earned 1 star for that). I've had better luck with buying ready made store cookie dough. Not recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
I made these exactly as written, and wasn't thrilled. They were pretty bland (definitely needed icing!) The bake time also seems really off. I baked them for at least 10 minutes a batch, and they still needed more time. And this was for a 1/4" cookie, not 1/2". I probably wouldn't make them again. It's a lot of work for a bland cookie that probably looks better than it tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ANNABELLE33
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
This is my ultimate go to signature cookie and every time I make these I am asked for the recipe by various people. The only thing I've started doing differently (and this was completely out of necessity) is to use half butter and half coconut oil rather than the full amount of butter. I did it one time because I ran out of butter and it was the best batch I have ever made. My big tip is to definitely refrigerate the dough at least overnight. This makes the dough very hard and difficult to roll. I've gotten around this by flattening out the dough before refrigerating and covering it in cling wrap on a big plate or tray rather than leaving it in a bowl. This has saved me a lot of frustration & time! I also make the cookies around 1/2 inch thick and they take 11 minutes to be done for me. I have no idea how they could be done in 6-8 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
Perfect! Made the dough the day before so it was nice and cold when I rolled it out, cookies came out beautifully at 8 mins with no spreading.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula Mercier

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glenville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
I have tried a very similar recipe recently that was great, but I lost it so decided try this one. While mixing the dough, it seemed extremely dry, but while rolling out, it was very sticky. The cookies were not as soft as I like, and the flavor wasn't exactly what i was looking for either. I think there was too much flour or not enough eggs or butter, but i can't pinpoint it. It's close, but not something people would beg for the recipe for, like claimed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whitney

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottumwa, Iowa, USA
Photo by Nicolec79
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
This recipe is great! I omitted the baking powder and chilled the cut out cookies on sheets before baking. The cookies were probably a bit more dense than if I had used the baking powder.... but I wanted to be sure they kept their shape when baked. Great flavor too. I made large Easter cookies and ended up with approx 30 cookies. This is my new go-to cut-out cookie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolec79

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orinda, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
I have tried several sugar cookie recipes and this one is by far one of the best in taste and in workability. If the dough is chilled it is very easy to work with. I actually chilled mine overnight and the dough did not get too hard like other recipes do and you have to wait 15-20 mins to work with the dough because it crumbles too easily. I was able to work with this dough straight from the fridge. My cookies came out great! I lowered the baking temperature to 350 F instead of 400 F for 9 mins and they were just right, very lightly baked. I used sugar sprinkles to add colour and everyone loved them. This recipe is definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 6,633) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Karen's Tips for Easy Rolled Sugar Cookies

Get tips for making classic cut-out cookies.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States