The Best Red Enchilada Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
Love this sauce! Will never use another. Followed recipe no changes needed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terre Haute, Indiana, USA
Living In: Prescott, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
I hate it when people change recipes then rate them but I sent my son to the store for ancho chilies and he came home with a huge jalopeno pepper and 2 large red bell peppers. I threw them in the oven at 400 to blacken, stuck them in a plastic bag to loosen the skins and then proceeded with the recipe. I did add some cayenne pepper and a bit more cumin in an attempt to compensate. I put the sauce on Chicken Enchiladas I from this site and they were awsome. I have had to order anchos from the internet - Spice Inc - and can't wait to actually follow the recipe. As good as it was with my forced substitutions, I can't wait to make this with the anchos. I'll keep you posted. Update July 28, 2010: Followed directions exactly and ended up throwing it out. Maybe because I toasted the chilis the day before for 3 minutes, soaked them and put them in a plastic bag until I was ready to make the next day. Never again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
This is a good sauce. Because time was short, I didn't roast the chiles and just added some smoked paprika for the smoky flavor. And I added a pinch of Mexican style hot chili powder, also, for a little punch of flavor. I had to sub chicken stock for beef broth as I had none in the house, but it didn't seem to matter. I served it over beef and onion enchiladas and when I ran out of room in the dish, I made some cheese ones and added the rest of the meat mixture to the leftover sauce and used that over the cheese ones. They turned out to be our favorite! This is much better than the canned sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
Tastes a lot better than canned! my store didn't have anchos so I used guajillos. I reduced the salt by 1/3 and only had 1/2 can tomato paste at hand, and the sauce came out very tasty all the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
This was very, very good! My sauce came out much darker than the photo, but I'm not sure that my dried chiles were anchos, and that's not a complaint in any event :) I used this on chicken enchiladas, and it was a hit! My brother in law even said it was better than my mother's, and she's an AMAZING cook who makes everything from scratch. No longer will I use nasty, sodium-filled canned sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dale City, Virginia, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
Very good! I love that the ingrediants were all in my cupboards already! I made this to use in the butternut squash enchiladas.........nice combo and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
Pretty awesome! Made something similar before but it didn't turn out as good. Only used two chilies because I didn't have any more. Didn't have any corn oil either. Used some homemade chicken broth instead of beef broth and it tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
I've been looking for a good enchilada sauce recipe ever since I moved from Texas to Germany 3 years ago, and this is it. Thanks, Christine! I used flour tortillas, since corn tortillas are impossible to find here, and used a mixture of Monterey jack and mild cheddar. Before rolling, I dipped each tortilla in the sauce on both sides, and drizzled more sauce and cheese on top after filling. They tasted just like the cheese enchiladas at my favorite Mexican place back home. I'll never buy canned enchilada sauce again! This was delicious and SO easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
Definitely a 5 star rating in my book! This red sauce was so incredibly good and really I thought it was quite simple! I won't make enchiladas without this sauce ever again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
This was my first time making Enchilada Sauce; I had a can in the pantry just in case this didn't work out. Um, I had to resort to the can. I'm going to try to make one more time, with fresh ancho chiles when we get some...will update review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Jo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce

See how to make a speedy enchilada sauce with authentic flavor.

Maria's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato and cream sauce for pasta.

Best Marinara Sauce Yet

Make this great marinara sauce for your favorite pasta dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States