The Best Red Enchilada Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
This was very, very good! My sauce came out much darker than the photo, but I'm not sure that my dried chiles were anchos, and that's not a complaint in any event :) I used this on chicken enchiladas, and it was a hit! My brother in law even said it was better than my mother's, and she's an AMAZING cook who makes everything from scratch. No longer will I use nasty, sodium-filled canned sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dale City, Virginia, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
Very good! I love that the ingrediants were all in my cupboards already! I made this to use in the butternut squash enchiladas.........nice combo and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
Pretty awesome! Made something similar before but it didn't turn out as good. Only used two chilies because I didn't have any more. Didn't have any corn oil either. Used some homemade chicken broth instead of beef broth and it tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
I've been looking for a good enchilada sauce recipe ever since I moved from Texas to Germany 3 years ago, and this is it. Thanks, Christine! I used flour tortillas, since corn tortillas are impossible to find here, and used a mixture of Monterey jack and mild cheddar. Before rolling, I dipped each tortilla in the sauce on both sides, and drizzled more sauce and cheese on top after filling. They tasted just like the cheese enchiladas at my favorite Mexican place back home. I'll never buy canned enchilada sauce again! This was delicious and SO easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
Definitely a 5 star rating in my book! This red sauce was so incredibly good and really I thought it was quite simple! I won't make enchiladas without this sauce ever again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
This was my first time making Enchilada Sauce; I had a can in the pantry just in case this didn't work out. Um, I had to resort to the can. I'm going to try to make one more time, with fresh ancho chiles when we get some...will update review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Jo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
Excellent! This turned out so well that I already went out and bought another bag of dried chiles for the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Chester, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
This turned out pretty well... my store didn't have ancho chilies so I used Japanese chilies instead and I only used 4 because I was afraid it would be too spicy for my 2 and 4 year old. I will definitely use this again! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WDSCULLY

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
Mmmmmmmmmm! Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JayneM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
FANTASTIC!!!!! Made this over the weekend, for chicken enchiladas...after followind recipe exactly, I added a thin slice of onion (about 1.4 inch thick) pureed,then put into the sauce and cooked for 30 minutes. Loved it both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce

See how to make a speedy enchilada sauce with authentic flavor.

Maria's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato and cream sauce for pasta.

Best Marinara Sauce Yet

Make this great marinara sauce for your favorite pasta dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States