The Best Red Enchilada Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
This sauce is delicious! The only reason I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 is that it is a bit time consuming. I as intimidated by the chilis since I hadn't worked with them before, but stripping them of the seeds was easy. toasting, easy, of course the soaking easy. The blender works great to break them up and I love love the smokiness roasting the chilis gives to the sauce. I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laraine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
I asked my wife, "So, you think its worth the time for me to make this enchilada sauce?" She said "Absolutely"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark Goodin
Living In: Baytown, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
This sauce is great! I didn't have ancho chiles in my grocery store, so I used dried New Mexico chilies. I think any large red chile would work! It turned out great! Not as much work as other enchilada sauce recipes I've tried but just as good or better! Love it with the cottage cheese enchiladas from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Brisbane, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
Excellent sauce and very easy. Only differences were that I used New Mexico chilis and didn't add as much beef broth as the recipe calls for since I thought at about 2 cups it looked thin enough. I will never buy the canned stuff again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gainesville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
I made this recipe as is and it turned out AMAZING! It was the best enchilada sauce I have ever had. I used a food processor to puree the ingredients instead of a blender, but that was all I changed. Thanks Christine for the awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
This is great, but I cheated. I had Bill Echol's Taco Seasoning from this site already prepared. It has chile powder, garlic, cumin, oregano, and salt in it. I just subbed that instead of bothering with the fresh chiles and other spices. Turned out wonderful and a heck of a lot easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
Very good, reminds me of my favorite restaurant's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
I didn't have dried ancho chilies, so roasted some fresh red ones I had on hand. Otherwise, followed the recipe as is. The result was - for my taste - a bit salty, too hot, and a bit too runny, but that could be fixed by simmering longer. The spiciness may have been because of my pepper substitution. In spite of this, I was pretty pleased with the result as it is definitely on the right track toward what I'm looking for and I base my rating on this. I'm guessing that the right peppers give it not only heat but flavor as well. The chilies I used had no flavor - just heat! Later, I made some modifications on this recipe: added 1/2 TBSP cocoa powder, a medium pureed onion (since I had no onion powder), and 2 TBSP flour to thicken it some. I'm even happier with the results now and will continue making this with these additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
Wow! What a great sauce, very versatile. You will be trying to find other recipes to use it in. Outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce

See how to make a speedy enchilada sauce with authentic flavor.

Maria's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato and cream sauce for pasta.

Best Marinara Sauce Yet

Make this great marinara sauce for your favorite pasta dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States