The Best Red Enchilada Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
I couldn't find ancho chiles so i used 6 chipotle peppers in adobo sauce added 2 tbl spoons of diced jalapanos and pureed them together. I didn't use oregano but instead added crushed red pepper , chipotle chilli powder, chipotle chili flakes and anco chile pepper powder. this gave the receipe a nice warm heat. My family LOVED it! I also did not put the oil in the recipe as didn't add anything but fat. One last thing we were makeing chicken enchilada so i used chichen broth instead of beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Yummy! I've never made my own sauce before. I just finished it and it was so easy!! This is going to be my "go to" recipe when I need to make enchiladas. I followed the recipe except I added more garlic. So, good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NANSEAB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
I can't wait to try your sauce recipe. I grew up making this sauce with my mother and grandmother. We didn't use an oven to toast we used a cast iron skillet/flat and to keep the sauce from having to much bitterness if you over-toast you change the water that you boiled the chili in and that will give you the great toasted flavor and not the bitterness of the burn. Can't wait to try your sauce!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sixofus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
This was very good! Thanks for a simple tasty recipe. I did need to add a tiny bit of sugar at the end to help pull the "can" flavor out of the tomato paste, so I think next time I will cook the paste a bit before putting the rest of the ingredients into the sauce pan with it and then whisk it together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
Really good! Followed directions exactly. Roasted chiles for only 2 minutes, as my oven runs hot. Used in enchiladas made with carnitas. Very delicious. Can use a generous amount of this sauce on your enchiladas, there is no "too much"! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisamarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Manteca, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
This sauce is delicious! The only reason I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 is that it is a bit time consuming. I as intimidated by the chilis since I hadn't worked with them before, but stripping them of the seeds was easy. toasting, easy, of course the soaking easy. The blender works great to break them up and I love love the smokiness roasting the chilis gives to the sauce. I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laraine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
I asked my wife, "So, you think its worth the time for me to make this enchilada sauce?" She said "Absolutely"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark Goodin
Living In: Baytown, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
This sauce is great! I didn't have ancho chiles in my grocery store, so I used dried New Mexico chilies. I think any large red chile would work! It turned out great! Not as much work as other enchilada sauce recipes I've tried but just as good or better! Love it with the cottage cheese enchiladas from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Brisbane, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
Excellent sauce and very easy. Only differences were that I used New Mexico chilis and didn't add as much beef broth as the recipe calls for since I thought at about 2 cups it looked thin enough. I will never buy the canned stuff again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gainesville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce

See how to make a speedy enchilada sauce with authentic flavor.

Maria's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato and cream sauce for pasta.

Best Marinara Sauce Yet

Make this great marinara sauce for your favorite pasta dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States