The Best Red Enchilada Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Wanted to use up the rest of a smoked brisket that my hubby had made over the weekend. This sauce made for the perfect enchiladas! Complimented the smokiness of the meat wonderfully! I've been making my own enchilada sauce since moving to South Florida. Never thought about using dried chiles. Thanks for the recipe Christine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Coral Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
Definitely an enchilada sauce worth the time. This doesn't require a whole lot of effort, but it does take time... that's OK though, just make it early in the day. Has a nice, smoky flavor from the dried peppers (which are usually smoked as well). As far as consistency, add the remaining 2 cups of beef broth a bit at a time after you put the pureed mixture into a sauce pan. I seemed happy with the thickness after using about 2 1/2 cups of beef broth overall. I agree with reviewers who get upset with people rating a recipe after they have made their own changes to taste. That's not what this is at all! After saying that I did have to use peanut oil instead of corn oil, because I didn't have corn oil on hand and was too lazy to go shopping. Other than that, stuck to the posted recipe. I was worried that the skins would present a problem, but they blended up smooth with the rest of the ingredients. A nice and mild, smoky sauce that will leave you putting the canned junk back on the shelf forever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
Ancho, Anaheim or Pacilla's.....basically the same chili. Very mild. I'm a lightweight with the heat and love Pacillas. Nice flavor and no heat. So, if a recipe calls for Ancho or Anaheim look for a Pacilla....vise versa. They are the same chili used for Chili Rellanos in Mexican Restaurants. Oh, can't wait to try this recipe. Sounds exactly like what I'm looking for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
I couldn't find ancho chiles so i used 6 chipotle peppers in adobo sauce added 2 tbl spoons of diced jalapanos and pureed them together. I didn't use oregano but instead added crushed red pepper , chipotle chilli powder, chipotle chili flakes and anco chile pepper powder. this gave the receipe a nice warm heat. My family LOVED it! I also did not put the oil in the recipe as didn't add anything but fat. One last thing we were makeing chicken enchilada so i used chichen broth instead of beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Yummy! I've never made my own sauce before. I just finished it and it was so easy!! This is going to be my "go to" recipe when I need to make enchiladas. I followed the recipe except I added more garlic. So, good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NANSEAB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
I can't wait to try your sauce recipe. I grew up making this sauce with my mother and grandmother. We didn't use an oven to toast we used a cast iron skillet/flat and to keep the sauce from having to much bitterness if you over-toast you change the water that you boiled the chili in and that will give you the great toasted flavor and not the bitterness of the burn. Can't wait to try your sauce!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sixofus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
This was very good! Thanks for a simple tasty recipe. I did need to add a tiny bit of sugar at the end to help pull the "can" flavor out of the tomato paste, so I think next time I will cook the paste a bit before putting the rest of the ingredients into the sauce pan with it and then whisk it together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PIXIE_BIT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
Really good! Followed directions exactly. Roasted chiles for only 2 minutes, as my oven runs hot. Used in enchiladas made with carnitas. Very delicious. Can use a generous amount of this sauce on your enchiladas, there is no "too much"! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisamarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Manteca, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
This sauce is delicious! The only reason I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 is that it is a bit time consuming. I as intimidated by the chilis since I hadn't worked with them before, but stripping them of the seeds was easy. toasting, easy, of course the soaking easy. The blender works great to break them up and I love love the smokiness roasting the chilis gives to the sauce. I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laraine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
I asked my wife, "So, you think its worth the time for me to make this enchilada sauce?" She said "Absolutely"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark Goodin
Living In: Baytown, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce

See how to make a speedy enchilada sauce with authentic flavor.

Maria's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato and cream sauce for pasta.

Best Marinara Sauce Yet

Make this great marinara sauce for your favorite pasta dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States