The Best Red Enchilada Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
This sauce is great! I didn't have ancho chiles in my grocery store, so I used dried New Mexico chilies. I think any large red chile would work! It turned out great! Not as much work as other enchilada sauce recipes I've tried but just as good or better! Love it with the cottage cheese enchiladas from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Brisbane, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
Excellent sauce and very easy. Only differences were that I used New Mexico chilis and didn't add as much beef broth as the recipe calls for since I thought at about 2 cups it looked thin enough. I will never buy the canned stuff again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gainesville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
I made this recipe as is and it turned out AMAZING! It was the best enchilada sauce I have ever had. I used a food processor to puree the ingredients instead of a blender, but that was all I changed. Thanks Christine for the awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
This is great, but I cheated. I had Bill Echol's Taco Seasoning from this site already prepared. It has chile powder, garlic, cumin, oregano, and salt in it. I just subbed that instead of bothering with the fresh chiles and other spices. Turned out wonderful and a heck of a lot easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
Very good, reminds me of my favorite restaurant's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
I didn't have dried ancho chilies, so roasted some fresh red ones I had on hand. Otherwise, followed the recipe as is. The result was - for my taste - a bit salty, too hot, and a bit too runny, but that could be fixed by simmering longer. The spiciness may have been because of my pepper substitution. In spite of this, I was pretty pleased with the result as it is definitely on the right track toward what I'm looking for and I base my rating on this. I'm guessing that the right peppers give it not only heat but flavor as well. The chilies I used had no flavor - just heat! Later, I made some modifications on this recipe: added 1/2 TBSP cocoa powder, a medium pureed onion (since I had no onion powder), and 2 TBSP flour to thicken it some. I'm even happier with the results now and will continue making this with these additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
Wow! What a great sauce, very versatile. You will be trying to find other recipes to use it in. Outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
Loved the sauce and loved the flavor! Next time I will try straining the sauce afte pureeing it to get out any "skin" left. Will definitely use again. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Mmmmm...the best. Oh yeah. Not spicy at all but this had a nice flavor and it made enough to cover 2 9x13 pans of enchiladas. After eating this, I won't ever buy canned sauce again. My only addition was a tsp of sugar to cut the bitter from the peppers (my tweak). SO delicious, Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce

See how to make a speedy enchilada sauce with authentic flavor.

Maria's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato and cream sauce for pasta.

Best Marinara Sauce Yet

Make this great marinara sauce for your favorite pasta dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States