The Best Red Enchilada Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
this is an easy, excellent enchilada sauce. i only had safflower oil on hand, and i used the simmer-in-broth-instead-of-soak-for-an-hour shortcut, and i threw all the beef broth in at once stick-blended it on the stove, and it came out juuuusssst fine on top of enchiladas made with leftover turkey and squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spadooky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
Soooo good!! Rich & spicy, but not too hot. My Mexican American MIL dislikes canned enchilada sauce, and was very impressed with this recipe. Very easy to make, and it freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
Delicious like what you'd expect from a good Mexican restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Barnes Porter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
Love this recipe. TIP: Find a produce/farmers market that roast chilies there on the spot while you wait (usually late summer). You can buy 1/2 to a bushel of chilies and have them roasted for you. Bring them home, let them cool, and bag up about 15 chilies, blackened skin and all, per quart freezer bag. When you need some for a recipe then thaw a bag or two, then clean and de-seed them. Roasted chilies goes great in so many dishes like this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TranquilityCea

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
Followed recipe exactly. This was great with great flavor. Super easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
i followed the recipe exactly and its just gross... i think the beef broth overwhelms the flavor and the oregano does also.... now im trying to add things to make it at least somewhat taste like enchiladas for dinner...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
This was so much better than canned sauces. Instead of steeping in hot water after roasting, I put the roasted and cleaned chilies in a pan with the rest of the ingredients and simmered for 1 hour. I added more broth to compensate for evaporation. When done, I just took my hand held immersion blender and blended it though. Everyone (even my picky kids) loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
Husband is a picky Mexican eater. I personally don't like this sauce only because I'm not a big fan of enchilada. However, I'm giving it a 5 star because my husband really like the way it taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
I followed the toasting of the ancho chilis meticulously after reading about several others' burned pepper experience. That being said, this recipe was a huge disappointment. I had to massage the recipe every step of the way to make it palatable. From altering the salt (needed more than recipe called for) to sweetening it due to the bitterness of the chilis. It was a lot of work and I ended up thankful for my chopped cilantro, green onions, sour cream, cheddar cheese. There was little smoky, savory flavor from the dried anchos and I bought them from a highly reputable spice company. No, this sauce was too much effort for the result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Smail

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
I love this recipe, I have made this repeatedly and it always turns out fantastic. Thank you so much for such a great savings from store bought!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nanciemartin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Coto De Caza, California, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce

See how to make a speedy enchilada sauce with authentic flavor.

Maria's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato and cream sauce for pasta.

Best Marinara Sauce Yet

Make this great marinara sauce for your favorite pasta dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States