The Best Red Enchilada Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 21, 2014
NEVER buying canned sauce again....hello enchilada dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by farrah
Reviewed: May 21, 2014
This recipe is fantastic. It has so much flavor and isn't spicy at all. I simmered the peppers in 1 can of low sodium beef broth instead of soaking them. I also cut down the salt and only used 1 tsp. It's a great recipe and an easy one to make adjustments to each individuals taste. It's a great recipe and super easy. Thanks Christine for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
So good I could drink it! Followed the recipe exactly as written. Not hot but has a spicy smoky flavor. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
I made this and followed the recipe exactly. It was too thin, too smoky, a little too hot, and I didn't care for the flavor. What went wrong? I just want a simple restaurant style red enchilada sauce, no weird flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
This was SO easy to make and to see it all come together was beautiful. My husband and I were not quite sure if we would like it because the ancho chiles don't smell the best when working with them but it turned out awesome! The color is a beautiful bold red and the flavors all come together so well. I don't normally keep "corn oil" on hand, but we went out to get the ancho chiles so I bought some corn oil at the same time. I think it would have been fine to use a different oil, however the corn oil definitely adds to the recipe! I also got three "cans" worth out of the recipe, so I now have enough for a later time! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Federal Way, Washington, USA
Living In: Bonney Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
This is the best enchilada sauce I have ever tasted, from a restaurant or canned. Many people are unhappy with the one hour soaking time but my friend and I used that time to make chili rellenos and margaritas! I am so thrilled to never have to buy a can of unsatisfying sauce again. THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
This was so yummy! I added one seeded chipotle pepper for heat and smokiness. It was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Yummy !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
This sauce is awesome! I did not have ancho chilis, so I used a mixture of guajillo and chipotle chilis. Also did not have tomato paste, so I used a can of tomato sauce. It is so good that we were dipping chips into the pan of sauce. We had about a cup leftover after making our enchiladas and decided to turn the leftovers into a salsa. I did burn my first batch of chilis and had to throw them out. They roast very quickly. This recipe has been added to our list of favorites
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Omgrl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nacogdoches, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
This was awesome!!!! My wife loved it my son loved it AND my mother in law loved it! Thank you Christine !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce

See how to make a speedy enchilada sauce with authentic flavor.

Maria's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato and cream sauce for pasta.

Best Marinara Sauce Yet

Make this great marinara sauce for your favorite pasta dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States