The Best Red Enchilada Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
Excellent! This turned out so well that I already went out and bought another bag of dried chiles for the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Chester, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
This turned out pretty well... my store didn't have ancho chilies so I used Japanese chilies instead and I only used 4 because I was afraid it would be too spicy for my 2 and 4 year old. I will definitely use this again! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WDSCULLY

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
Mmmmmmmmmm! Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JayneM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
FANTASTIC!!!!! Made this over the weekend, for chicken enchiladas...after followind recipe exactly, I added a thin slice of onion (about 1.4 inch thick) pureed,then put into the sauce and cooked for 30 minutes. Loved it both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
I will never buy canned enchilada sauce again....I used dried "California chiles" that I purchased from the grocery store where they sell mexican spices in the cellophane bags.....I changed nothing else in this recipe and the taste is incredible....I'm sold! Our jack cheese enchiladas never tasted better. THE WINNER!!! (imao) :0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
This was so good and surprisingly easy! I soaked the chilis while I was putting my kids to bed and came back and finished the rest. My family LOVED it! Definitely will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sam15

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
Very good. Hubby said the enchiladas were my best ever. I did use fresh, and not dried, peppers then roasted them myself. The sauce wasn't spicy at all, so next time I'll kick it up a notch. Just our preferance. I had never used these peppers before, so I erred on the side of caution:) It was a lot of work for just the sauce, but well worth it. Thank you for sharing Christine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
I didn't really care for this. It was way too thick and had a bitter taste. I use the same chiles for Mrs Espy's and it isn't bitter. I think I'll stick with her's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Springfield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Agawam, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
Incredible sauce; rich, smoky & tasty. Roasting & Soaking the peppers really isn't too difficult, and besides, it's the crux of the sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
The first thing my daughter said was, "Why can't restaurants make enchilada sauce this tasty." And I replied, "Score!" Wonderfully smokey and full-bodied flavor without being too spicy for tender palates. I was in a hurry and used fresh poblano peppers instead on rehydrating. Roasted, peeled, seeded, chopped, then pureed according to instructions. I'll definitely stock ancho chiles in my pantry for the next time the enchilada bug bites me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy926

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Costa Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Danville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce

See how to make a speedy enchilada sauce with authentic flavor.

Maria's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato and cream sauce for pasta.

Best Marinara Sauce Yet

Make this great marinara sauce for your favorite pasta dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States