The Best Red Enchilada Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
Nice fresh taste. I messed mine up, halving the recipe but using 4 chiles instead of 3 (oops)!! After doctoring it up, it was great! I used fresh onion instead of the powder, and water instead of broth (didn't have).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
We couldn't find dried ancho chiles at our New England grocery store, so I used 3 tablespoons of Mexican chile powder and 1 tablespoon of chipotle chili powder instead. I also only used about half the amount of stock when reheating the sauce to thin it out. The results were fabulous--flavorful and spicy but not overwhelming--and I will definitely make this again. Variations could include cocoa powder and cinnamon. In fact I bet you could use this sauce as a good base for mole. Great recipe--thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Using roasted garlic and carmelized onions make this recipe absolutelly delicious. While I have an affection for ancho chiles, I found that dried jalepenos were equally sufficient to complete the flavor. Using rendered fat is a great way to add some robust flavors. The base recipe is awesome, but I would recommend adding a personal touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
I followed the directions exactly and this turned out really good. I would recommend adding crushed red pepper before blending to add some heat to this as its very mild.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
Be very careful with those chiles. I had to roast 12 in order to get the six I needed. I had to substitute a different kind of dried chile, beef bouillon and water for the beef broth, and I only added 1 teaspoon of salt. I don't like most red sauce because it's too salty. I used the sauce to make Spinach Enchiladas on this site. They were fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
I screwed it up. I totally burnt the peppers while toasting them. HAHAHA. Watch the time!!!! Wah. No more peppers on hand, but I really wanted the sauce so I just used a whole bunch of chili powder and a itty bit of paprika for a smoky flavor. I'm still giving it five stars. I can tell this recipe is awesome by the ingredients. The only thing I was going to omit was the oregano because I didn't want even the slightest reminder of spaghetti sauce flavor but that's a matter of personal taste. I soooo wish I didn't burn the anchos. My adjusted sauce was OK: the chilis would have brought the sauce to perfection! So thanks for putting me on the right track. Next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iwakuni, Yamaguchi, Japan
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
This was awesome! I followed the recipe exactly and it came out delicious. I used it with butternut squash enchiladas, and my boyfriend - who hates squash - devoured them. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
I LOVED this sauce...and I am Picky about my enchiladas (tend to prefer traditional sauce). I couldn't find Ancho Chiles dried, so substituted dried California chiles. I burned black the first batch, so put fewer in than called for (only 4). I also added more tomato paste (my can was bigger). My hubby said it was tangy (prob the extra paste) but liked it with sour creme on top. At first I thought Oh-boy a whole hour to soak! But, the time flew by as I was making the enchiladas, and the sauce was really quite easy. Thanks so much!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
I tried the recipe as is and it was good, but very time consuming. I decided to boil the chilies with a couple of jalapeños for about 25-30 mins. Strained only the ancho chilies. Then moved on to step 3. Included the jalapeños and left out the tomato paste and did not add the broth until it was in the sauce pan. I also used 1/2 a knorr caldo de pollo bullion cube with a cup of the water I used to boil the chilies. Slowly added that to the sauce to make sure it did not come out too watery. I only used about 1/2 of the broth. This saved a lot of time and still came out very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
This is so delicious, I would give it 10 stars if I could. Thank you soooo much for posting this!!! This is 1000% better than the canned stuff!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce

See how to make a speedy enchilada sauce with authentic flavor.

Maria's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato and cream sauce for pasta.

Best Marinara Sauce Yet

Make this great marinara sauce for your favorite pasta dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States