The Best Red Enchilada Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
Best enchilada sauce ever! So yummy, Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
This stuff is delicious and super fast and easy to make, not to mention very inexpensive. Like others I heat up a cast iron skillet over medium heat and lay the chiles in there for just a few minutes. They'll get toasty and soft, making it easy to remove the stems and seeds. They don't need to soften for an hour - maybe 15 minutes in the boiling water. Throw everything in the blender and POOF! Excellent red sauce you can make your own with any number of changes or additions. I just made an enchilada casserole that's in the oven now and I can tell you this sauce will be a staple here. Thanks Christine for a most excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa L

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dove Canyon, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
I made this recipe exactly! Hands down the best enchilada sauce ever!! I've even shared it with others who love it too. Make it, you won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
Use olive oil instead sometimes I mix up the peppers! Mostly on accident! But this recipe always gets me invited back!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
I made this last night! It was so easy and so flavorful. I've roasted dried chilies before so I knew to watch them carefully. If you over-roast the skin will become crispy and bitter, which will translate to the finished sauce. I actually roast the chilies in my toaster oven on 300 degrees, turning frequently. This does a good job softening up the chilies and they puff up and become fragrant. Changes: I added a cup of hot broth to the soaking liquid and used the soaking liquid to puree the chilies and other ingredients. I used olive oil instead of corn oil. Not sure how it changed the flavor since I didn't do a side-by-side comparison, but my husband really liked the sauce so yay for me. I like my red sauce a little spicy and knew that the ancho chilies I used were very mild, so I used some red pepper flakes in the puree to kick it up a notch. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
NEVER buying canned sauce again....hello enchilada dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by farrah
Reviewed: May 21, 2014
This recipe is fantastic. It has so much flavor and isn't spicy at all. I simmered the peppers in 1 can of low sodium beef broth instead of soaking them. I also cut down the salt and only used 1 tsp. It's a great recipe and an easy one to make adjustments to each individuals taste. It's a great recipe and super easy. Thanks Christine for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
So good I could drink it! Followed the recipe exactly as written. Not hot but has a spicy smoky flavor. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
I made this and followed the recipe exactly. It was too thin, too smoky, a little too hot, and I didn't care for the flavor. What went wrong? I just want a simple restaurant style red enchilada sauce, no weird flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
This was SO easy to make and to see it all come together was beautiful. My husband and I were not quite sure if we would like it because the ancho chiles don't smell the best when working with them but it turned out awesome! The color is a beautiful bold red and the flavors all come together so well. I don't normally keep "corn oil" on hand, but we went out to get the ancho chiles so I bought some corn oil at the same time. I think it would have been fine to use a different oil, however the corn oil definitely adds to the recipe! I also got three "cans" worth out of the recipe, so I now have enough for a later time! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Federal Way, Washington, USA
Living In: Bonney Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce

See how to make a speedy enchilada sauce with authentic flavor.

Maria's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato and cream sauce for pasta.

Best Marinara Sauce Yet

Make this great marinara sauce for your favorite pasta dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States