The Best Red Enchilada Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
I normally don't care for red enchilada sauce, and favor green instead. But this sauce is really great! I LOVED how this recipe wasn't tomato heavy! The beef broth works perfectly with all the chili flavors, and the seasoning is spot-on! After reading some of the reviews I got scared of burning the peppers, so i toasted them @350 for 3 min. I noticed that they darkened up a little bit, but definitely didn't turn black. Might be hard to tell if you burned them because the ancho chilies are already super dark, almost black already. I used 1 huge ancho, and 5 california chilies. Instead of covering the chilies with water, I used 2 cups of beef broth, and simmered them for 20-30 min. They really soaked up a lot of liquid, so I ended up still adding 2 more cups of broth. So total I used 4 cups broth, which happens to be an entire carton of beef broth. (perfect!) Once I got to blending everything, I also added one chipotle chili with a bit of adobo (from a can.) I didn't to that for heat, just to diversify the chili flavors. I added a little bit (1/4 cup) of caramelized onions to the blender, not that the recipe needed it. I just happen to be obsessed with onions, and can't seem to eat a meal without them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vannaannabanana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
Christine, this was AMAZING! I knew I was doing something right when the sweet lady at the Mexican Market asked what I was making with the chilis, and when I told her enchiladas, she smiled brightly and told me that was the best way to go. I had a small dinner party so I made it ahead and refrigerated until I was ready to cook. Doubled the recipe for 18 enchiladas and had enough to serve on the side. Not a single drop left! Thanks for the tips. Was nervous about burning the chilis, but they were perfect. Mine took 2-1/2 minutes. Not sure why folks are concerned about the oregano, I did exactly what you wrote and my folks raved as they gobbled! I could hug you!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MittiSmitti

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buford, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
This came out simply delicious modified a little extra garlic and used ancho chilies and chilies de Arbol but is definitely going to be used again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
Excellent. Be careful not to burn the peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArmyMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
I took the suggestion to place the chiles in the beef broth to soften to save time. After that place the broth and chiles and add'l broth into the blender. Wowzers! I made this for Christmas dinner and everyone loved it. It is exactly as stated "smoky and savory". Will definitely use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
Best enchilada sauce ever! So yummy, Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
This stuff is delicious and super fast and easy to make, not to mention very inexpensive. Like others I heat up a cast iron skillet over medium heat and lay the chiles in there for just a few minutes. They'll get toasty and soft, making it easy to remove the stems and seeds. They don't need to soften for an hour - maybe 15 minutes in the boiling water. Throw everything in the blender and POOF! Excellent red sauce you can make your own with any number of changes or additions. I just made an enchilada casserole that's in the oven now and I can tell you this sauce will be a staple here. Thanks Christine for a most excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa L

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dove Canyon, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
I made this recipe exactly! Hands down the best enchilada sauce ever!! I've even shared it with others who love it too. Make it, you won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
Use olive oil instead sometimes I mix up the peppers! Mostly on accident! But this recipe always gets me invited back!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
I made this last night! It was so easy and so flavorful. I've roasted dried chilies before so I knew to watch them carefully. If you over-roast the skin will become crispy and bitter, which will translate to the finished sauce. I actually roast the chilies in my toaster oven on 300 degrees, turning frequently. This does a good job softening up the chilies and they puff up and become fragrant. Changes: I added a cup of hot broth to the soaking liquid and used the soaking liquid to puree the chilies and other ingredients. I used olive oil instead of corn oil. Not sure how it changed the flavor since I didn't do a side-by-side comparison, but my husband really liked the sauce so yay for me. I like my red sauce a little spicy and knew that the ancho chilies I used were very mild, so I used some red pepper flakes in the puree to kick it up a notch. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce

See how to make a speedy enchilada sauce with authentic flavor.

Maria's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato and cream sauce for pasta.

Best Marinara Sauce Yet

Make this great marinara sauce for your favorite pasta dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States