The Best Red Enchilada Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2015
Made it according to the recipe-the best enchilada sauce ever!!! And very easy to make!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2015
I made this a vegetarian recipe by replacing the beef broth with an equal amount of water and a vegetable bouillion cube. Great enchilada sauce. After you have this, it is hard to imagine how you ever ate the canned stuff, or could again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saltado

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hamilton, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2015
Very disappointed in the results of this simple recipe. Sauce left a bitter and very tomato-y taste. Couldn't figure out how to fix it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky Banks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
The flavor was really good. Thank you. We added a can of tomato sauce to kind of round it out a little. There was a nice balance of bitterness, smokey flavor, and salt. The tomato sauce gave it a little sweet and tart. We put it on spinach cheese enchiladas. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2015
This was good - But alot of messy work! Fun to try, but will not be a "go to" recipe for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Begian

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
Anytime I see someone use dried chilis in a recipe I know it is going to be more Mexican and less "Taco Bell". Authentic Mexican food is not sweet, and usually has more chilis and less tomato than Americans would think. I think this is a nice enchilada sauce. The dried anchos are integral. If you can't find a Mexican tiendita or a food store that sells them, it might be worth it to purchase them on line. They are dried, and last almost indefinitely in a sealed storage bag. Buen provecho!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Temple Hills, Maryland, USA
Living In: Orange, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dcjones
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2015
I followed Christine's recipe EXACTLY and it turned out great!! I didn't take any short cuts, followed all the measurements and my enchiladas were delicious. The sauce is smoky, flavorful, and not too spicy. I'm so glad I tried this out! It's a permanent addition to my rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
I normally don't care for red enchilada sauce, and favor green instead. But this sauce is really great! I LOVED how this recipe wasn't tomato heavy! The beef broth works perfectly with all the chili flavors, and the seasoning is spot-on! After reading some of the reviews I got scared of burning the peppers, so i toasted them @350 for 3 min. I noticed that they darkened up a little bit, but definitely didn't turn black. Might be hard to tell if you burned them because the ancho chilies are already super dark, almost black already. I used 1 huge ancho, and 5 california chilies. Instead of covering the chilies with water, I used 2 cups of beef broth, and simmered them for 20-30 min. They really soaked up a lot of liquid, so I ended up still adding 2 more cups of broth. So total I used 4 cups broth, which happens to be an entire carton of beef broth. (perfect!) Once I got to blending everything, I also added one chipotle chili with a bit of adobo (from a can.) I didn't to that for heat, just to diversify the chili flavors. I added a little bit (1/4 cup) of caramelized onions to the blender, not that the recipe needed it. I just happen to be obsessed with onions, and can't seem to eat a meal without them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vannaannabanana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
Christine, this was AMAZING! I knew I was doing something right when the sweet lady at the Mexican Market asked what I was making with the chilis, and when I told her enchiladas, she smiled brightly and told me that was the best way to go. I had a small dinner party so I made it ahead and refrigerated until I was ready to cook. Doubled the recipe for 18 enchiladas and had enough to serve on the side. Not a single drop left! Thanks for the tips. Was nervous about burning the chilis, but they were perfect. Mine took 2-1/2 minutes. Not sure why folks are concerned about the oregano, I did exactly what you wrote and my folks raved as they gobbled! I could hug you!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MittiSmitti

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buford, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
This came out simply delicious modified a little extra garlic and used ancho chilies and chilies de Arbol but is definitely going to be used again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce

See how to make a speedy enchilada sauce with authentic flavor.

Maria's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato and cream sauce for pasta.

Best Marinara Sauce Yet

Make this great marinara sauce for your favorite pasta dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States