The Best Pizza Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2000
The only thing with the recipe is that there is not enough water in it you need to add at least 1/4 cup more to have the dough come together. Now we don't go to the pizza shop...we don't need to with this recipe! It is the best!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
I have tried quite a few pizza crust recipes, this one is pretty good. However, it is definitely short on liquid. I had to double the water. I also am a big fan of the dough-cycle on my bread maker, so I made it this way and with the extra water and a dash of olive oil, it came out perfect! I do feel like this recipe should give a little more guidance as to time- on the second rise and the first bake specifically. I found them to be 30 minutes and 10 minutes, respectively. I also slid the pizza onto a broiling pan for the last 15 minutes of cooking to get a nice, crispy bottom. I will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gooddealmeg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2002
This is by far the best homemade pizza dough I've ever had. We're ranting and raving over it right now as we eat it. (Ragu Old World Style sauce, fresh pressed garlic, Italian sausage, and pepperoni... Yay! Yummy!) Tip: If there's a problem with the dryness of the dough- use milk to bring it together. Go dough hook go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2005
This made the best home made pizza we've ever made. Only one thing wrong. It absolutely requires extra water. Probably 2/3 C. instead of 1/3. That's where I'll start next time. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2000
I made this crust and divided into small balls for some kids to make individual pizzas. It was very easy for them to work with and they really liked it. Also, I made this dough while my dad was gone and then made pizza for dinner. I always use a another recipe and this time he asked me what kind of crust it was. He loved it, and that's really a compliment coming from him!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
It's been eons since I've made homemade pizza, and the crust has always been the issue. I'm always looking for that pizza parlor flavor and texture. Yeasty flavor, crispy outside, chewy inside. This crust has a great texture, and made a nice thick crust which browned beautifully; it held up to the toppings I heaped on it and wasn't at all doughy. Prebaking it is absolutely inspired, and I think it made all the difference in the end product. This recipe may be a little more work than others at, but in my estimation, it's worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATYPI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
Oh dear, this just did not work out for me. I followed the recipe exactly but it was just like bread crumbs. From past recipes, I think it may be that there was not enough water. Pretty sure I won't be trying to make this again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2006
This turned out great. The only thing I did differently is I proofed the yeast, as I always do. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2000
it didn't work that well. maybe i did something wrong...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2004
It was a pretty good crust. I prefer dough made with olive oil though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Pizza Crust

Homemade pizza in less than 30 minutes? This video shows you how.

Jay’s Signature Pizza Crust

You’re going to love this 5-star recipe for homemade pizza crust.

Easy Pizza Sauce III

This no-cook pizza sauce tastes just like the best takeout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States