The Best Pizza Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
Awesome! Just what I was looking for. Not to mealy, with a nice flufly texture yet crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
This recipe made a great crust. I modified it by using olive oil instead of butter or margarine and half whole wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tash
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
After reading the reviews I subbed 1/2 cup whole milk for the milk powder. I also put cornmeal on the pan to help prevent sticking. I mixed it in my kitchenaid with the dough hook. The texture was great. But the taste wasn't quite what we look for in a pizza. I don't even know what to change to make it better. For reference I spread it as thin as possible, cooked it the first time for about 12 min, and the 2nd time for 14.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tash

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
It was very good but I agree I had to add a lot more water and I also added a little olive oil I love a crust with that. One of my crusts turned out better than the other haven't quite figured that out yet either but I think its because I put an oil based sauce on and it just drenched this dough up a little too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KarenLynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
Agree with adding more water - I use a total of 3/4 cup. I take a fork and blend everything (looks like shreds of dough) and then using my hand push it all into a ball. Last couple of times I've added ~1 tbs of olive oil at this stage and I let it proof (rise) for at least 3 hours under a towl in a bowl. Also have had good luck exchanging the milk powder for powdered buttermilk
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
After having trouble with a gluey batch, I tried again and while it was still really hard to put together after adding 2/3C more water than the recipe said to add, it was pretty nice. I liked the consistency but wish I didn't have that "Oh no, what did I do wrong?" moment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
This turned out great. The only thing I did differantly was to use real butter which I melted. I also had to use more water, between a 1/2 - 3/4 cup. I also placed the dough over the back burner of the oven and turned the oven to warm to help the dough rise. And when I cooked the dough before the toppings I did that for five minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pocahontas, Iowa, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
Oh dear, this just did not work out for me. I followed the recipe exactly but it was just like bread crumbs. From past recipes, I think it may be that there was not enough water. Pretty sure I won't be trying to make this again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
I agree with the others not enough water so what I did was substitute the powder milk for 1/3 a cup regular milk. We also like a garlic bread crust so I added 1tbl spoon garlic powder. I also used this to make garlic bread sticks. After rolling out the dough into sticks and letting them rise again on the cookie sheet I brushed the top of them with a stick of butter and some garlic salt. Came out fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Oakland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
This recipe absolutely needed a bit more water,,, I also exchanged 1 Tbl 'olive oil' for the margarine which helped in the hydration and the taste. Try the first baking in a 1/2 sheet pan and this makes a great ' Sicilian' style pie. Check on it during the baking and poke any bubbles that may appear.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Pizza Crust

Homemade pizza in less than 30 minutes? This video shows you how.

Jay’s Signature Pizza Crust

You’re going to love this 5-star recipe for homemade pizza crust.

Easy Pizza Sauce III

This no-cook pizza sauce tastes just like the best takeout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States