The Best Pavlova Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2003
Fabulous, and surprisingly easy! One of the few recipes on this site that actually turned out as promised. I made a few small adjustments: I used 4 egg whites instead of 3; added a dash of cream of tartar about 30 seconds into beating the eggs, to help them fluff; added 1/2 tsp. vanilla extract at the same time as the lemon juice. It turned our beautiful -- even golden brown, with a crisp shell and a chewy inside. Served with ginger whipped cream and strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2001
Wow! I just made this for our Christmas Dinner dessert and it was such a hit that I'm now sending off copies of the recipe to friends and family. It's quick to make, the meringue base is crunchy on the outside and gently chewy on the inside and when topped with berries (strawberries, blueberries and raspberries), it'll make your dinner party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2007
I have made this recipe four times and it has come out perfectly each time. I followed the directions exactly. I have made it with strawberries and once with well drained canned freestone peach slices. Wonderful both ways. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
I tried another Pavlova recipe that turned out much more to my Aussie husband's liking - and I must admit to mine as well. I used 4 whites, vinegar (not lemon juice - there's a reason for this) a bit less corn starch, about 1.5 tsp. and I put my 1 cup of sugar in my food processor to create a castor sugar - a fine blend, which mixed easier into the meringue by adding it 1 TBS at a time during the whipping process. The recipe called for drawing a 7 inch (not a 9 inch) circle and simply mounding it (no fancy piping) onto the circle with edges as straight as possible, then creating a small well for the cream. It then said to bake it at 250 degrees for 1 hour and 15 minutes and after it's done baking, turn the heat off and leave the oven door cracked slightly open for at least 30 minutes, or until cooled enough to handle the pan without oven mitts. If it cracks, that's good and if it weeps it's over cooked and that's bad. It was a golden brown and incredibly tender and sublime. The crunchy light outside of the cake melted in your mouth, while the interior filled it with light delight - much like a marshmallow cream center. I topped it with lightly sweetened whipped cream and used strawberries and blueberries. Next time I might use a tart fruit like a black or boysenberry and raspberries to offset the sweetness of the meringue. My husband had thirds and said it was the nicest Pavlova he's had anywhere in Australia. The recipe came from an Aussie chef, Stephanie Alexander
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
354 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LemonLush

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 28, 2007
Wonderful! However, maybe it is just me, but mine doesn't come out snow white, it's more of a golden brown. I don't know if I should leave it in for less time or just embrace the tan. Also, Pavlova is a New Zealand dessert, not an Australian one. Named after the ballerina, as said below, because she wanted a light, satisfying dessert as graceful as she. Because it is from New Zealand, use kiwis as well as strawberries for a hint of irony and a perfect flavor combination. I also use blackberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xiaocupcake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2001
I took this in for my 'treat day' at work. They loved it!! It's impossible not to hit the mark with Pavlova. I covered mine with pineapple, kiwi, strawberries and bananas. I have to admit though, I did cheat and use redi-whip instead of making my own whipped cream. I feel so guilty. NOT!!!! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA
Living In: Christoval, Texas, USA
Photo by JENLOVES2COOK
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2006
This is a great recipe. Very easy. The advice about drawing the pie pan size on the parchment paper was easy. I used a pasty bag to pipe the meringue. I also added a dash of cream of tartar to stiffen egg whites. So pretty and fresh summer taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENLOVES2COOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olmsted Falls, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2003
Very easy to make. Just follow the recipe, especially the part about leaving it in the oven. Thank you for sharing the recipe, Virginia!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2006
like the name
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
I made a couple modifications, but this turned out really well. Not only did it have a great presentation, I liked the fact that this recipe used lemon juice in place of white wine vinegar. It just seemed more natural. These are the alterations I made. * Instead of whipped cream, I went for a slightly healthier alternative, and I used light cool whip. * Blue berries in place of strawberris * I added a teaspoon of lemon rind to compliment the blueberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Strawberry Pavlova

Watch Chef John make a beautiful strawberry dessert from Down Under.

Very Best Blueberry Cobbler

A gooey blueberry cobbler with a light, cakey topping.

Best Ever Blueberry Cobbler

This cobbler is bursting with blueberry flavor, a great summer dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States