The Best Pavlova Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by JENLOVES2COOK
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2006
This is a great recipe. Very easy. The advice about drawing the pie pan size on the parchment paper was easy. I used a pasty bag to pipe the meringue. I also added a dash of cream of tartar to stiffen egg whites. So pretty and fresh summer taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENLOVES2COOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olmsted Falls, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2006
like the name
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2005
change 3 egg whites to 4 and substitue lemon juice for vinegar. And for all those arguing about who invented this dessert (Aussies or Kiwis), lets face it - there are more kiwis living in Australia than New Zealand, so who cares! Let's connect the 2 countries and rename it Ausland or Newralia
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2004
Theres no arguing pavs are awesome. But to up the debate, the original pavlova is australian. New zealand had a similar type of dessert, it was made up of 3 small type pie things, not the large, as we know it today, pavlova, thats australian. Anna Pavlova did tour australia and new zealand, around 1930's, but she didn't invent the dessert, it was just described as "light" and other descriptives like her as a ballerina. So you can say australia and new zealand came to make the dessert, but not one or the other.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2003
Very easy to make. Just follow the recipe, especially the part about leaving it in the oven. Thank you for sharing the recipe, Virginia!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2003
Fabulous, and surprisingly easy! One of the few recipes on this site that actually turned out as promised. I made a few small adjustments: I used 4 egg whites instead of 3; added a dash of cream of tartar about 30 seconds into beating the eggs, to help them fluff; added 1/2 tsp. vanilla extract at the same time as the lemon juice. It turned our beautiful -- even golden brown, with a crisp shell and a chewy inside. Served with ginger whipped cream and strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2002
i admit this is a really good pav, but to clear things up a pavlova is not australian it is new zealand, and it was named after the famous ballerina Anna Pavlova ......light, graceful....etc but yes its good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
134 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2002
A great idea I found was to flatten down the middle of the pavlova so that it creates a 'crater' and then fill this with chocolate mousse. Decorate with strawberries and kiwi slices when the mousse has set. This was an absolute hit at a recent engagenment dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2001
Wow! I just made this for our Christmas Dinner dessert and it was such a hit that I'm now sending off copies of the recipe to friends and family. It's quick to make, the meringue base is crunchy on the outside and gently chewy on the inside and when topped with berries (strawberries, blueberries and raspberries), it'll make your dinner party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2001
I took this in for my 'treat day' at work. They loved it!! It's impossible not to hit the mark with Pavlova. I covered mine with pineapple, kiwi, strawberries and bananas. I have to admit though, I did cheat and use redi-whip instead of making my own whipped cream. I feel so guilty. NOT!!!! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA
Living In: Christoval, Texas, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Pavlova

Crisp meringue layer topped with whipped cream and fresh fruit.

Fresh Strawberry Pavlova

Watch Chef John make a beautiful strawberry dessert from Down Under.

Very Best Blueberry Cobbler

A gooey blueberry cobbler with a light, cakey topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States