The Best Pavlova Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
We loved this pavlova recipe! The texture was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
was very good - used vinegar instead of lemon juice - will make again, but the next time i think i'll put it in a little lower temp for a bit longer - it came out a bit brown and i like my pavlova to be like a cloud (just a personal thing) but the taste was perfect. thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rockabella
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
This recipe produced a pavlova that was probably perfect for me. It was crisp on the exterior and melt-in-the-mouth on the interior, the crust was slightly golden in colour and there wasn't even a single crack on the pavlova. I used about 1 cup of sugar, which I thought made the pavlova too sweet. I'm not sure whether reducing the amount of sugar will affect the appearance and texture of the pavlova though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rockabella

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
Being an Aussie cook this dessert is a standard on my entertaining menu. I must have made it more than 50 times. My recipe is similar to this but I use white wine vinegar in place of lemon juice. Any clear vinegar will do. I also add a dash of vanilla extract. If you haven't tried pavlova I urge you to. I have never met anyone who doesn't love the combination of crunchy outer texture and marshmallowy centre. I top my pav with passionfruit pulp and cream. It balances the sweetness of the meringue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
I tried another Pavlova recipe that turned out much more to my Aussie husband's liking - and I must admit to mine as well. I used 4 whites, vinegar (not lemon juice - there's a reason for this) a bit less corn starch, about 1.5 tsp. and I put my 1 cup of sugar in my food processor to create a castor sugar - a fine blend, which mixed easier into the meringue by adding it 1 TBS at a time during the whipping process. The recipe called for drawing a 7 inch (not a 9 inch) circle and simply mounding it (no fancy piping) onto the circle with edges as straight as possible, then creating a small well for the cream. It then said to bake it at 250 degrees for 1 hour and 15 minutes and after it's done baking, turn the heat off and leave the oven door cracked slightly open for at least 30 minutes, or until cooled enough to handle the pan without oven mitts. If it cracks, that's good and if it weeps it's over cooked and that's bad. It was a golden brown and incredibly tender and sublime. The crunchy light outside of the cake melted in your mouth, while the interior filled it with light delight - much like a marshmallow cream center. I topped it with lightly sweetened whipped cream and used strawberries and blueberries. Next time I might use a tart fruit like a black or boysenberry and raspberries to offset the sweetness of the meringue. My husband had thirds and said it was the nicest Pavlova he's had anywhere in Australia. The recipe came from an Aussie chef, Stephanie Alexander
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
356 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LemonLush

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
I made a couple modifications, but this turned out really well. Not only did it have a great presentation, I liked the fact that this recipe used lemon juice in place of white wine vinegar. It just seemed more natural. These are the alterations I made. * Instead of whipped cream, I went for a slightly healthier alternative, and I used light cool whip. * Blue berries in place of strawberris * I added a teaspoon of lemon rind to compliment the blueberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2007
I have made this recipe four times and it has come out perfectly each time. I followed the directions exactly. I have made it with strawberries and once with well drained canned freestone peach slices. Wonderful both ways. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2007
Wonderful! However, maybe it is just me, but mine doesn't come out snow white, it's more of a golden brown. I don't know if I should leave it in for less time or just embrace the tan. Also, Pavlova is a New Zealand dessert, not an Australian one. Named after the ballerina, as said below, because she wanted a light, satisfying dessert as graceful as she. Because it is from New Zealand, use kiwis as well as strawberries for a hint of irony and a perfect flavor combination. I also use blackberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xiaocupcake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
Great dish - which we enjoy with a variety of fruits - made interesting by controversy! For what it's worth, Cuisine du Monde (online) gives this background: "In 1934, Herbert Sachse, the chef at the Hotel Esplanade in Perth, Western Australia, presented a new cake he named Pavlova, because it was as light as Pavlova. However, the Meringue Cake was common in NZ in the early 1930s. In 1973, Sachse stated in a magazine interview that he sought to improve the Meringue Cake recipe that he found in the Womens Mirror Magazine on April 2, 1935. That recipe was contributed by a New Zealander." Seems that, like every great idea, two heads are better than one! Australia and New Zealand- we love you both ... and your Pavlova! Cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JENELLEBELLE
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2006
Hmm... I have to give this three stars for now. Although it turned out GORGEOUS (see photo), my meringue was crispy/crunchy all the way through! When I cut it, it all flaked to pieces. I made it as directed, except after it was done baking I turned off the oven and left it in there to cool for about 4 hours (I had an errand to run) instead of 1. I didn't think this would be a problem since several pavlova recipes say to leave it in the oven until it is completely cooled. I'll try this again, next time with the "Easy Pavlova" recipe from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENELLEBELLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Macomb, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Fresh Strawberry Pavlova

Watch Chef John make a beautiful strawberry dessert from Down Under.

Very Best Blueberry Cobbler

A gooey blueberry cobbler with a light, cakey topping.

Best Ever Blueberry Cobbler

This cobbler is bursting with blueberry flavor, a great summer dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States