The Best Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
These are so damned wonderful, it's ridiculous! I baked everything in about an hour since my in-laws could keep the kids busy. They filled the house with that brown sugar/cinnamon scent. It's Xmas in a bite! We all ate one as soon as they were cool enough and my 1yr old kept making "yummy" sounds as he ate it. I had to make it with chocolate & no nuts because of allergies & no teeth (the 1yr old) & per recommended added more oats. Unfortunatedly adding the extra oats made the cookies not so very sweet so that was my bad. I do think the recipe should have more cinnamon but that's cause I love cinnamon. Then again it could've been the extra oats that ruined that too. Either way, wonderful cookies. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JGo555

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
I sifted in the baking soda with the flour and it was still very strong in flavor. If I use this recipe again, I will probably cut the baking soda down to 1 tsp. They're flat anyways, can't see it will make a difference other than better flavor. I also used 3 cups oats. I don't see how only 2 cups would suffice. This recipe was just "ehh."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEIRDRE7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Excellent cookies. Evidently those who said these cookies were cakey did not prepare them the way I did because they have perfect texture. I did add one tablespoon of molasses to the raisin mixture, but I wouldn't change anything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
Best chewy cookie I have EVER found!!! Family really loves them...this is a keeper!!! Thank you for posting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
Love these cookies. They were flavorful and had a chewy consistency with a little crispness. I substituted 1/2 C of butter-flavored Crisco for 1/2 C of the butter. This gave me the consistency that I wanted for the cookies. Next time I will cut the salt in half. Will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
These were very good, I did not add the raisons but on the second half of the batter i added about 1/2 cup of cocoa powder will def make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Yummy cookies, I used butterscotch and chocolate chips and was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
I made these cookies as per the recipe. I loved the texture! Excellent! It's a sure keeper, Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
Delicious recipe. Cookies do stick to the "unprepared pan" though. I lined pans with parchment paper. After baking, I slid cookies on the paper, right onto wire rack to cool. When cool, the cookies lift right off the paper. Easier clean up too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
3.5 out of 5 stars. While this is a decent oatmeal cookie recipe, I wouldn't call it the best, nor would I call it chewy. I followed the directions exactly and it seemed to be lacking something, of course I'm used to the recipe once used by my Great Grandmother at her restaurant, Dorothy's Lunch in Gambier, OH, but since I was lacking the shortening needed for her recipe and had a MAJOR oatmeal cookie craving I thought I'd give this one a try. Once again, not a bad recipe, but definitely not the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by corbinsmom85

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Delaware, Ohio, USA
Living In: Zanesville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 195) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States