The Best Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 8, 2013
I made as directed minues raises and nuts, since my kids don't like them and did one batch as the recipe calls for and they were a little cakey, but after that batch I added more oats to it and it was better. I also had to lower the time to about 7 minutes, but that could just be my oven as ovens and altitudes vary. They weren't the best I've every had, but my kids enjoyed them. I'm going to add chocolate chips in the last two batches (I'm still baking them) and see how they taste. But overall, good if you add more oats unless you do like them a little cakey. I don't with oatmeal cookies, but don't mind with other types so I think it's a preference. I also think that the cakey part comes from mixing the batter too much, so that could be a problem some were having. Next time I'll try it without mixing too much and see if it's better. Overall, they are good and worth a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
Picky kids loved it! My husband couldn't keep his hands out of the cookie jar. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
These are simply the best oatmeal raisin cookies ever. Soaking the raisins makes all the difference! I follow the recipe exactly, but I add chocolate chips to some of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
I made a few changes: 1/2 c butter, 1/2 c butter flavored Crisco, 3/4 c Craisins, 1/2 c sliced almonds, 1/2 c chocolate chips, & I added the zest of 1 orange & 1 t baking powder. I found I needed to mix the dry ingredients with my hands to get a sticky enough dough. I baked for 12 minutes. These came out with a nice chewy consistancy. I got 5 dozen & my calorie counter app says they have 104 calories each, so I broke my diet to try one, ok two!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
Just baked a batch of these cookies. I agonized over whether or not to follow the recipe or take the suggestions of other reviewers. I made two adjustments: used 1 teas. of baking soda and 1 teas baking powder; I also added 1/4 teaspoon of allspice for extra spice. My cookies turned out beautifully. Having admitted that, I fall on the side of the reviewers who emphasized that following the recipe exactly will reap excellent results. Trust it. I think the best advice is to make sure that you take the cookies out of the oven as soon as the edges turn brown and the center appears underdone. On one batch of cookies, I let the center start to brown and that batch is not nice and chewy in the center as the rest of the cookies. If you have a taste for these cookies one day and you don't have any nuts, no worries. I bought some expensive pecan nuts that added nothing to the recipe. You can skip the nuts. I could have done without them and they would have been just as good. As others warned, this recipe yields LOTS of cookies. It seems they are all over the kitchen. I'll have to give some away. I suspect there will be many takers. I used parchment paper on most batches but for experimental purposes, I made one batch just using my new non-stick sheet. No difference. As others have warned, the dough is stiff! Again, don't worry. I used a cookie scoop and they were the perfect size. The cookies are indeed crispy on the outside and chewy in the middle. Good Luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
Love these! I will have to admit that I was afraid my mixer was taxing itself and I left out the last 1/2 cup of flour. I realize that this made mine flatter than others, but the taste was wonderful! Buttery goodness. I did use a Chinese Cassia Powder for the cinnamon and upped the amount. Left out nuts (kids don't like) but added a few semi-sweet chips. Yum! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
This recipes makes THE best oatmeal cookies on the planet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
The only problem with these oatmeal cookies is that they disappear from the cooling rack before they reach the cookie jar! These are dangerously good cookies! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bcdh13
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
We loved these cookies! These definitely beat store bought oatmeal cookies x 10! :) I sent a tin of these with a family friend out to the oil rigs and he says that they were the best he has ever had, he has put in a request for me to make them again for him to take to his next project. My husband however said that I should replace the raisins I added in place of the pecans with chocolate chips so next time for just him I'll split the dough in two, one for chips one for raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bcdh13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
these are the BEST oatmeal cookies ever! everyone that has tried them says so. but i dont like raisins, so i used dried cranberries and it turned out amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crytsal Ma

Displaying results 41-50 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States