The Best Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
These are simply the best oatmeal raisin cookies ever. Soaking the raisins makes all the difference! I follow the recipe exactly, but I add chocolate chips to some of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
I made a few changes: 1/2 c butter, 1/2 c butter flavored Crisco, 3/4 c Craisins, 1/2 c sliced almonds, 1/2 c chocolate chips, & I added the zest of 1 orange & 1 t baking powder. I found I needed to mix the dry ingredients with my hands to get a sticky enough dough. I baked for 12 minutes. These came out with a nice chewy consistancy. I got 5 dozen & my calorie counter app says they have 104 calories each, so I broke my diet to try one, ok two!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
Just baked a batch of these cookies. I agonized over whether or not to follow the recipe or take the suggestions of other reviewers. I made two adjustments: used 1 teas. of baking soda and 1 teas baking powder; I also added 1/4 teaspoon of allspice for extra spice. My cookies turned out beautifully. Having admitted that, I fall on the side of the reviewers who emphasized that following the recipe exactly will reap excellent results. Trust it. I think the best advice is to make sure that you take the cookies out of the oven as soon as the edges turn brown and the center appears underdone. On one batch of cookies, I let the center start to brown and that batch is not nice and chewy in the center as the rest of the cookies. If you have a taste for these cookies one day and you don't have any nuts, no worries. I bought some expensive pecan nuts that added nothing to the recipe. You can skip the nuts. I could have done without them and they would have been just as good. As others warned, this recipe yields LOTS of cookies. It seems they are all over the kitchen. I'll have to give some away. I suspect there will be many takers. I used parchment paper on most batches but for experimental purposes, I made one batch just using my new non-stick sheet. No difference. As others have warned, the dough is stiff! Again, don't worry. I used a cookie scoop and they were the perfect size. The cookies are indeed crispy on the outside and chewy in the middle. Good Luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
Love these! I will have to admit that I was afraid my mixer was taxing itself and I left out the last 1/2 cup of flour. I realize that this made mine flatter than others, but the taste was wonderful! Buttery goodness. I did use a Chinese Cassia Powder for the cinnamon and upped the amount. Left out nuts (kids don't like) but added a few semi-sweet chips. Yum! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
This recipes makes THE best oatmeal cookies on the planet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
The only problem with these oatmeal cookies is that they disappear from the cooling rack before they reach the cookie jar! These are dangerously good cookies! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bcdh13
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
We loved these cookies! These definitely beat store bought oatmeal cookies x 10! :) I sent a tin of these with a family friend out to the oil rigs and he says that they were the best he has ever had, he has put in a request for me to make them again for him to take to his next project. My husband however said that I should replace the raisins I added in place of the pecans with chocolate chips so next time for just him I'll split the dough in two, one for chips one for raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bcdh13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
these are the BEST oatmeal cookies ever! everyone that has tried them says so. but i dont like raisins, so i used dried cranberries and it turned out amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crytsal Ma
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
These are the BEST oatmeal cookies ever. They stayed soft and flavorful until the very last one was eaten. I would give this recipe to anyone looking for a great oatmeal cookie. Thanks for sharing this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
These are the best Oatmeal cookies. I did not add the pecans and I didn't have the raisins so I substituted with dried cherries. Chopped them up and followed the rest of the recipe. They were delicious, my grandson even thinks so. They are chewing and crunchy. I will be taking these too work. My co-workers allways love it when I bring goodies and they are going to love these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States