The Best Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Photo by nicevillejen
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
This is the best oatmeal cookie recipe I've found to date! I followed a previous reviewer's lead, and added an additional cup of rolled oats. I also substituted the raisins for a 1 cup mixture of raisins, golden raisins and dried cranberries. The cookies came out beautifully! They look and taste fantistic! Make sure you don't make them much bigger than a rounded teaspoon and they'll be soft, chewy and perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
Great cookies but they are cakey! The reason for this is the 2 tsp of baking soda! As we all know baking soda is a raising agent - hence a more cakey than flat, crispy cookie. Omitt or half the amount of baking soda for a flater, crispier and chewier cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
The name of this recipe says it all! These truly are the best oatmeal cookies I have ever eaten. They are soooo chewy and practically melt in your mouth! Not that they need any changing, but we added a "Brown Butter Frosting"* from Paula Deen to the tops and everyone raves about them. I have make three batches already this weekend! My hat is off to the creater of this recipe! Keep them coming!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
By far the best cookies that I have ever tasted! I use cranberries instead of raisins, and added just a little extra salt. I have made these cookies three times in the last three weeks and my family goes crazy for them. If you are looking for an oatmeal cookie recipe - this is the one you want!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Prague, Hlavní Mesto Praha, Czech Republic

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
Excellent cookies - great texture. A couple people mentioned the cookie was "cakey". They didn't follow the recipe then. Follow the recipe precisely and you will get a chewy cookie on the inside, a little crisp on the out. This includes the size in which you bake them in (teaspoon-size, no larger - they'll fan out as they cook). The flavor is outstanding. This is a definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
Excellent cookies! I am making them again today, they did not last very long the first time I made them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
I'm not a bog fan of oatmeal cookies, but I made these for my boyfriend for Valentinme's Day. He loved them! They are just chewy enough..crispy bottom but soft everywhere else. I even liked them! I used quick oats--not sure if it had something to do with it, but my dough was kind of flaky..I just made balls out of the mix and pressed them down. Perfect after baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
These cookies are so good! I have been looking for a "keeper" oatmeal cookie recipe and I have found it...much better than the recipe on the name brand oatmeal carton! These were crispy on the edges and chewy in the middle. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
This recipe produces nice chewy cookies. I believe the last reviewer used baking powder instead of baking powder, which resulted in the cakey cookies rather than chewy cookies. Hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
Just made these cookies yesterday nad I have to tell you that my son and daughter told me that these were the best Oatmeal Raisen cookies that they have ever had. I have to agree these are exceptional, Great flavor and nice chewey texture. I left out the nuts because they bother my wife.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 188) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States